Today, I Remember

in #history7 years ago (edited)

Today, I remember.

Poppy

1914-1918: 61,000 dead; 172,000 wounded

Today, I remember those who laid down their lives so I could live in peace, in freedom.

1939-1945: 42,042 killed; 54,414 wounded; 8,995 taken prisoner

Crosses

Today, I remember the service of my great-grandfather, my grandfather, and my father.

Today, I remember my great-grandfather who served in the Second World War. He left home, a mere teenager and joined the airforce. This is the first year my family can no longer thank him in person. But today, I remember his sacrifice.

Today, I remember the decades my grandfather served in the military. He went wherever he was needed - Canada, Belgium, Germany. My mom says they moved at least every two years.

Today, I remember the years my father served in the military. He was a helicopter pilot and went overseas on peacekeeping missions when I was just a toddler.

I am so thankful for these three men, for their lives, and the stories they have to tell. Thank you for your service.

As of March 2014: 1,800 lives to remember

Soldier

Today, we remember, lest we forget.


Canadian statistics taken from the following websites:
http://www.warmuseum.ca/firstworldwar/history/after-the-war/legacy/the-cost-of-canadas-war/
http://www.warmuseum.ca/cwm/exhibitions/newspapers/canadawar/casualties_e.shtml
http://www.veterans.gc.ca/eng/news/general-statistics

All images taken from Google Images

Sort:  

Lovely thoughts. My stepfather Arthur served in Ypres in WW1 and won many medals, but he never, ever spoke of the war. I think he was glad to come out of it still alive and physically intact. He had a great sense of humour, I adored him, as did my two sisters and the grandchildren. I did love my own dad very much, whom I lost when I was 19, and we were great friends. He served in the ARP (Air Raid Personnel) in London during the Blitz, alongside my grandmother, who was a nurse. In fact Arthur was very much like my own father in many ways. A lovely man and we still miss him, he used to say how happy he was that he had three daughters (he had two sons, our step brothers) and he married my mum when they were in their sixties and they were very happy together. I always buy a poppy and donate, as servicemen and women should be remembered on this special day, wherever they are. Thank you

Men and boys sent to kill and die because powerbrokers decreed it, setting the stage for a century of war and terrorism. The depth of this tragedy is nearly impossible to fathom. But at least stages of this slaughter did end.

Congratulations @rennoelle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Echoes of war reverberate thru the generations
Scars, wounds healed but not forgotten
Life endures, sacrifice born
hope

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76