You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: American Civil War Letters - May 19, 1865 - (Im)patiently Waiting, Dental Care

in #history6 years ago

I've been out of touch for a bit and it's been fun catching up. It sounds from this letter as if Marie has gotten a very patient letter from her husband despite all the things she is embarassed about concerning the state of the property and her desires that he was doing the things that she's had to do that week. It sounds like she's in a much better mood when she wrote this.

I have to admit that there are times when Doug is away that I get extremely frustrated and my emails must sound perhaps a bit accusatory. maybe. I might say that this week has been a challenge and Doug heard about it... (this last post 😠)

Sort:  

Aw, that didn't sound too bad. An occasional trip to Paris can't be too bad if he can work from home the rest of the time, can it?

Do you ever get to go along?

It isn't really bad and though people are often very surprised and a little concerned when he goes for 3 months during the spring, I usually don't have any serious problems while he's gone and I have immediate internet texting and Skype in the few times I have had problems. Your average military deployment is worse. Doug's incredibly careful to check almost everything that could go wrong before he leaves.

I appreciate when he's home though. It's really nice when he works overtime that he's still home and that when he's off he can pursue his favorite things. He also gets really cranky about a commute. I'm not sorry that neither of us have to deal with his commute moods!

I used to go and have seen a few European countries that I wouldn't otherwise have a chance to visit. Now he mostly goes to Paris or New York and stays right around the city. I've been to each several times and it's more productive for me to stay home and mind the power and weather. (It would be painful if the pipes froze. They stay warm when the wood fire is stoked each day.

How did you guys take to you becoming a home-body? Big change or just different?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69611.14
ETH 3805.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82