Kiwi nostalgia: gone and almost forgotten (20)

in #history6 years ago

NZ Music Month's Melodic Memories (1)

Pixie Williams
album.jpg
(1949-1950)
image source
You can listen to her Blue Smoke here:

This was "the first pop song to be wholly produced in NZ. source


image source

Daphne Walker
album.jpg
(1946-1966)
image source
You can listen to her rendition of Haere Mai here:


photo.jpg
image source
Trivia: she apparently suffered from stage fright.

Dinah Lee

(1960s-onward)
image source
You can watch her perform her song Do The Blue Beat here:


photo.jpg
image source

Max Merritt (& The Meteors)

(1956-onwards)
image source
You can watch them perform their Slippin' Away here:


photo.jpg
image source

Carol Davies
I could find scant information on her, sadly.
(1950s-?)
photo.jpg
"Carol Davies and Johnny Devlin on the cover of Joy , 2 March 1959"
image source
You can listen to her Wee Wee Willie here:


photo.jpg
image source

Clyde Scott (& the Zanyopolis)

(late 50s-early 60s)
image source
You can listen to their Gravedigger Rock here:
Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Some of these brought back cool memories

That is good to hear :)

You have got a long spade to be digging that far back, bringing back some good memories, thanks.

It's one of those long-handled coal shovels. :D

you are digging well. must be getting close to the bottom of the barrel though. [shame, I am enjoying the nostalgia]

hehe, but wait .. there's more! I'm not sure just when I'll find the bottom. :D

pay for this one and get another one free?
or are moving shaking pillows too?

If it's done right, everything is moving & shaking :D

I was thinking of that horrible pommy girls voice who made a fortune out of the phrase"But Wait, there's More"
then lost it to the Maoris.

Oh, right. I forgot about that - Suzanne Paul? infomercial queen

Len's right - a very long spade. We've now got to a point where instead of knowing more than half, I know less! I know Slippin' Away, and it will come as no surprise that I use Pixie Williams with my class. I remember Dinah Lee but not that song. I'll have to come back later and check out the rest, but better go do some work now.

I've gone back to where I know few of the artists - or I didn't realise they were kiwis - but some of the songs sound familiar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59123.43
ETH 2988.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75