You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monkeys & Medicine: How 17th Century Pets Helped Prevent 1.5 Million Childhood Deaths

in #history8 years ago

My house, built in the 1950s in a returning GI neighborhood, still has a ramp to support the post-polio patient who lived here for so long. He died of an infection soon after they moved out.

The same neighborhood used to have a public pool, which closed during the polio scare of the 1950s, because apparently it was mostly a water-borne virus.

Sort:  

I came across the pool thing in my research. I didn't dig into it but it seems like the paranoia about pools was unfounded because by then they were treating pools with Chlorine which kills the virus. (but like I said I didn't look into it deeply)

People were just so frightened of catching it that they became really cautious!

Yeah, I only moved here 10 years ago, so I wasn't around for that. I just found some of the leftover concrete in the neighborhood park where they had torn it down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22