You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mystery History Pt4b - Lake Monsters and Myths - Lake Erie.

in #history7 years ago

Yet another fantastic post from steemit's very own maestro of mystery @tremendospercy I have to admit that this area of research has been off my radar and so I've read these posts with great interest. I think that as with many of these myths they hold a grain of truth, perhaps Bessie is no longer with us but equally perhaps she was indeed a prehistoric beast that somehow managed to cling on and was present when the native Americans began to settle in the area. Thus her story has gradually passed from first hand account and into the realm of myth. Equally I'm still open to the idea that out of all these thousands of sightings from around the world at least one or two could indeed be valid. Indeed until fairly recently giant squid were thought to have been relegated to the realm of myth! and both new and previously extinct species are still being found throughout the oceans of this world. Larger areas I know, but interesting and equally an indication that perhaps we don't know as much as we think we do. Great work as always my friend.

Sort:  

Thanks for the great comment buddy. I like the hypothesis regarding Bessie. It's possible that Euroepean migration to North America was the catalyst for the demise of the creature, those old paddle boats would chew up most things let alone propellers. I'm quite confident there are still creatures around the world waiting to be discovered in our largest freshwater lakes. Time will tell....
Thanks again my freind.

This is a very mysterious and exciting article. I think these are real creatures.
Now they may have been hidden or maybe extinct.
Thanks for your exciting post
I read this writing with fear and shiver.
thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51