Sort:  

Thank you for reading and responding. I’m passionate about history and Australian war history so it’s easy to do my research.

My absolute pleasure. It is a topic that interests me too. One of the most memorable travel experiences I had was walking in our soldiers footsteps at Normandy.

Normandy is on my list. I've done the Kokoda Trail (2007) and done six days on the Western Front (France/Belgium)...Both Kokoda and the Western Front are incredibly moving and emotional experiences. I've done blogs about both, way back on my feed. We're heading to the UK for six weeks in June/July this year so looking forward to checking out some history there as well. Not as much Aussie war history there but I've traced my ancestry back to 1451 in Paul, Cornwall so that should be a buzz. I might be heir to a castle. :)

Check out my 3 Kokoda blogs and Western Front blogs from ages ago if you like and here's one a did a while back on the Light Horse: https://steemit.com/history/@galenkp/from-colonial-cavalry-to-the-australian-light-horse

Kokoda scares me. I'd love to do it though. I find they are all so emotionally charged. I think of all the young men I know and see them scaling cliffs or beating through the bush. It breaks my heart. I'll definitely check out those other articles.

I took on the Kokoda Trail as a personal challenge and to honour the men (average are 19) who fought, suffered and died, on the Trail in world war two. It's an emotional trek and an exercise in mental toughness. Most of the trekking is done solitary, alone but one's thoughts. The trekkers come together at the lunch break or end of day and exchange thoughts, talk about the world, life and what they discovered about themselves that day. It changed my life. I recommend every Australian does it, those who are capable. It gives the trekker a small glimpse of the level of mental and emotional commitment the troops had to display.

Thanks for reading and commenting. I appreciate it, as always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00