You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chimney Rock National Monument

in #history7 years ago

I love that area of the country. And thank you for sharing that great cultural history.
It was very interesting to visit that area and especially those old sites. Seems like in every canyon and hillside if you look for them you can find ancient dwellings.

Sort:  

Hi @ohicklin, you think so? I guess I see things in every crevice so I guess? LOL!
Thank you for sharing your appreciation for old stuffs. xx

I remember in southern Utah especially, it seemed there were as often as not cliff dwellings in canyons we would explore. And the most exciting was just finding them when wandering around unexpectedly. If we only had the time to visit them all, but only had about 10 days at the time. That was one of our most memorable vacations.

By the way there is also a "Chimney Rock" not far from us in western North Carolina.

This location is not a cliff dwelling, these are on Mesas. The cliff dwellings are in Mesa Verde. This location is very unique as explained In my writing as a storage, epicenter and astronomical site. Most kivas are but this one is very different. There are no cliff dwellings around this particular space. As far as Utah is concerned, I have not researched that area and I’ve only driven by Moab. I have yet to walk those particular lands. What cliff dwellings are you referring to in Utah? Yes ive heard about the other chimney rock, that’s why I put national monument after my title. I do not believe the others are national monuments, there are definitely more than two with the same name in the world. Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94