The dog that went to space and never returned! The story of Laika the dog.

in #history8 years ago (edited)

[ Photo: google img ]

Disclaimer: The Russian's did this in 57 and I do not endorse such experiments which involves animals. So hello SPCA.

On November 3, 1957, the Russians were preparing for the launch of the Sputnik-II. This was different from the earlier Sputnik-I which they had sent a month earlier. While the first one made history by being the first man-made satellite into space, the second one was even more historic. Sputnik-II, for the first time ever, would be sending a living being into space. A dog named Laika.

If you ask why a dog? I would say, maybe human life was too precious to waste on an experiment with no known precedence, which made failure likely. And a dog, back in the day, was just a dog!

Those were the heady days of the cold war, and superpowers were in a race to conquer space. This race did open up technologies which gave the world a future to look forward to. But in this race was sacrificed a living being, a creature of this earth. A dog who once again rose up to a challenge, and proved that she was indeed, mans best friend.

[ Photo: news.bbc.co.uk ]

So on the 3rd of November, 1957, Laika became the first living being to leave the earths atmosphere. Unfortunately, the satellite was never recovered and so she ended up becoming sacrificed for the sake of research. She is said to have died painlessly in orbit, a week after take off, and she is still up there in space today.

And some times this gives me inspiration when I feel down and out. I close my eyes and float the vastness that is space. I put myself into Laika's body and float aimlessly, and marvel at the beauty of the universe. I become Laika, and I feel better. I feel liberated and unshackled, unlike how I feel in the modern world, where I am under constant scrutiny and obeying laws I did not agree to.

And this makes me think that if we, the earthlings, are all part of this universe, then why are we not free?
Like the dog in space, Laika.

Sort:  

I don't think Like felt liberated, she mush have been as scared as shit. It is not romantic (yes, I know you said you don't endorese the expermient, still you make it sound romantic and it is not

And she was a she dog, not a he

My intention was not to glorify and I am sorry if you felt I did. And also thanks for pointing out the sex! I shall edit pronto!

Poor dog

Thanks for the upvotes, but to fair it was so heartbreaking I couldn't finish article, thinking of that dog wondering "when will they come back for me," is just too much.

Woah man...deep. Thanks for the share

Glad you liked it. Thanks

ok, a different kind of reading :) why not!

mentalNote: "So on the 3rd of November, 1957, Laika became the first living being to leave the earths atmosphere."

Thanks! Non-circlejerk?

It's the first time I hear about some ridiculous experiment like that one . I only upvote for finding this story not for the painful suffering this cutie had to go through. I will never understand the human race :(

Ugly things were done in the past for "progress" which has landed mankind where we are today. I intend bringing more such incidents which should ask a question of the present generation, was it worth it? And like you say, I too "will never understand the human race". Thanks!

RIP Laika!

Thats all we can say now!

The human race did some crazy experiments back in the day. There must be some wild experiments going on today as well, albeit shielded from the rest of the world!

Yes and the value of life was different for other animals. Thanks.

Good to know, great post.

Thank you. History should not be forgotten, especially sacrifices, even by a dog!

They should make a movie about it, with Christopher Nolan directing. :)

I think there was a movie made in the 70's, not sure though. But Thanks.

Norbu , you get my support from your generosity
👍🍸🍸🍸

bullionstackers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51