You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly History : History Of Northern Nigeria [Part 3] - Nupe In The Pre-Colonial Era

in #history5 years ago

Very interesting, @samminator. I must confess that with your posts I have learned a bit about African ethnic groups. I think I told you that the only ones I knew were the Yorubas and I would never have thought that there were other groups. As for the Nupes, they also have marks on their faces like the Yoruba? A few days ago I read how some parts of Africa were very strict, even these days, with their ancestral norms and culture, which they even keep almost intact. How do they do this? I imagine that these groups must remain very isolated from the big cities, or on the contrary, they coexist with people from other groups, perhaps giving interesting and multicultural mixtures! Thank you for sharing your work! ;)

Sort:  

I'm really glad you found the post educative. Actually, having tribal marks is very common in Nigeria. Even the Igbos, Yorubas, Hausas etc have their own tribal marks, but you can easily differentiate them.
Yes, some places have very strict traditional practices. For example, In some parts of Igbo, there's a particular festival called mmanwu festival. A particular dreaded masquerade normally graced the festival once a year, but only men and titled women are permitted to see the masquerade.

Thanks a lot for reading, Nancy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37