Houdini Escapes a Thief Proof Barn Due To A Farmers Pity

in #history7 years ago

In 1926, shortly before his death, Houdini recounted his experiences performing magic in the country. Of the country people he said "I've found them less gullible. They know it's just a trick".

On one occasion Houdini attempted to escape from a formidably secure barn in a small Iowa town. He recounted the experience in this way;

"Finger the locks as I would I could make no impression on them. I exhausted myself and leaned against a door section to rest for a final spurt. To my amazement the door opened and the witnesses applauded me."

When Houdini returned to the farm house to change his clothes the farmer came into the room and explained that he had left that section of the barn-door unlocked out of "pity".

It is interesting that when presented with the option to allow the rich and famous Houdini to fail the farmer chose to become an accomplice. I like to think that they parted company with a wink and a smile, while the delighted bystanders continued to tell stories of the amazing and unexplainable escape.

Houdini.jpg

Sort:  

I love Houdini. He is such a cool part of magic history. I love to imagine being in the street for one of his live performances. Thanks for your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36