You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greatest Martial Artists of All Time: Miyamoto Musashi

in #history7 years ago

Yes Musashi!
When I was a young Judoka, I was in love with the stories of Musashi..

One day I was talking with my Japanese girlfriend and telling her how great he was...
She looked unamused.
I said 'What - you dont like Musashi?!'
'No - he showed up late.'

I'll never forget that look on her face, and how I felt at that moment.

Sort:  

Ha, that's funny. I wonder how popular these historical characters are in Japan? If you mention Musashi, would most people know that you are talking about a medieval swordsman?

Oh absolutely! Talking about the great samurai of old would be the equivalent of talking about George Washington and Thomas Jefferson in the US. I don't think there are many people over the age of 5 that wouldn't know who Musashi is, but he is not as well known or respected as some other famous samurai. I mean -daytime soap operas are about them, manga comics are about them, even train advertisements and such. Much of the romance of Japan is strongly linked to the samurai. (I am in Japan currently BTW) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31