Yesterday I learned about the fate of my grandfather, or why I love the Internet.

in #history7 years ago (edited)

Hello, steemit friends. Yesterday I learned about the fate of my grandfather who didn’t come back from the war.

As I said in my previous post, I like the history and read everything I can about significant events, for example, about The Second World War (1939-1945) and The Great Patriotic War (1941-1945).
Well, because it's interesting and I do believe that we still don’t know every fact about it.

My grandmother, who was born in the village of Rovno, talking about the war, used to show the photo of her brother Roma, who served on the Western Border. On the back of the photo there were warm words to relatives and date, 3.08.1940. And that's it. No more details. He never returned. My granny searched for him all her life.

And I was searching too, but unsuccessfully. Because I thought that his surname was the same to my granny's - Ivanov. And yesterday I found him.

I found a prisoner's card with the same name, Roman Arkhipovich, from the village of Rovno, near the town of Pskov, but with a different surname. And there was a photo. A thin man but similar to my grandfather.

I phoned all my relatives in order to find out his surname. Yes, it's him. This is my grandfather.
He served in the 88th Border Regiment. In the town of Kamenets, not far from the town of Brest, on June 28, 1941 he became a war prisoner. He was taken to the concentration camp in Germany. Killed at the same place.

I learned all info from the prisoner's card (the Third Reich Nazi's data): height, eye color, religion, the place of service, the date of stay in the infirmary, information about vaccinations, the address for communication with relatives and many more.
Now I will look for a burial place.

I found out all the information on a website www.obd-memorial.ru
Maybe someone is also looking for their relatives.

And I made this video. It contains 2 layers - the city during the war and nowadays. It’s terrific. By the way, at the very beginning of the video there is a photo of my district (where I live now), it was taken in 1939 (before the war), the second frame - 1942.

I am against war.
And sorry for my English)

Photos by Sergey Larenkov

Sort:  

Congratulations @mallika! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51