You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Other Painted Ladies of the Old West

in #history6 years ago (edited)

$30 a night was sure a lot of money back then! And yes, that's a big hat, but I love it; I love the clothes back then too! :) Thanks for another interesting historical read @janton ;)

EDIT: In case you don't have ginabot set up yet, @buckaroo featured you in a post I think you'll want to see :)

Sort:  

howdy @lynncoyle1! hahaha! no way..you do NOT like that dang huge hat! no way...well maybe if you had a hat that big it would offset those feet! is that what you're thinking? ok then I can see why.

yeah those women were HAULING it in! they were getting rich at the poor cowboys expense, I kinda feel sorry for them but they probably figured it was worth it. my posts would be better if I had more time to spend on them. bytheway I'm dropping back on time next week because our place here needs so much work and I've been neglecting too many things so
you'll probably be nosing your way up to first place again. I'll try to do enough to stay in the top ten...or maybe try for the top 5.

I don't know, depends on how involved I get in the outside work, I have a problem with multi-tasking, I'd make a terrible female. one thing at a time I'm great but can't juggle things like females can.

oh wow, yes I was blushing again! buckaroo commented on that post and told me what she did, I was like what the??? very very kind of her. turns out she is a big fan and is fascinated by the Old West also even though she's in Africa so I thought that was so interesting!

of course I don't have ginabot set up yet! I spend all my time trying to answer all your comments! lol. I love it.

hahaha yes, the hat would balance my feet for sure. That's why I was so sad when bell bottoms went out of style and skinny jeans came in :)

I'm glad you saw that about buckaroo! I'm one of the judges in that contest and was pleased to see you featured. You're really making a name for yourself buddy :)

Sometimes real life gets in the way of our steemit fun, doesn't it? :)

hey @lynncoyle1! ......is there a place on steemit that has contests for the funniest lines of the week? if there isn't then you should start one. no swearing or curse words though. anyone doing that?
because that line about the Bell Bottom Jeans was hilarious! lol. those skinny jeans just accentuated your feet size!haha! oh man you're too funny.
you're a judge on that contest? of course you are. What AREN'T you involved in? either you're cloned or Steemit isn't as big as I thought it was. is there a prize in that contest or just more exposure?
my sp is pitiful and I keep hearing that you can't get to 500 sp unless you buy steem from outside funds and then power up, is that your opinion?

Witty and no wine...yet :) I thought you might like that one haha

The prize is a @steembasicmembership(sbi); we judges pay 1 steem for the winner to get one and sbi gives you upvotes for life on your posts. The more of those you get, the higher their upvotes from them. My upvote from them on every post i write is about .20 now. So it's worth it.

I've never bought steem and choose to grow organically. Takes time, but it's possible. Through things like asher's contest, I've been able to power up a lot of steem, as I'm assuming you do too?

howdy back again @lynncoyle1...so if you're already that witty without wine I can hardly wait until you have some wine! but then we won't know who's talking the wine or the woman? wine, women and song, that's what those cowboys were after, basically.

so I'm not sure I understand this statement.."The more of those you get, the higher their upvotes from them. " the more sbi's I get? where do I get them? isn't that just buying votes that half the people on here are so against?

yes Ma'am I power up but it looks pitiful..but alot of people that I talk to have 500+ or even thousands in sp so it feels like I ain't got squat! lol.

do you have 500 yet? they say that when you hit 500 sp things get easier and when you hit a rep of 60 things get easier, what say you? or the wine, either one.

Ok, sbi first:

This is their profile : Social Experiment to provide every Steemian with Basic Income
It's not a bot, but run by one nice guy ;) By supporting others, you also support yourself. So for example, let's say you win the Pay It Forward Contest (pifc), as one of the judges, I purchase one sbi for you, but by doing that, it also gives one to me. That's how mine is big already. It's actually a really nice idea. I don't know if you can actually buy them for yourself.

I had a look in your wallet (heehee) and I'd say you are doing very well for joining so recently. I find it's a slow and steady wins the race kind of thing here. I have about 375 SP myself, but have been fortunately delegated to by a few different people, so it's higher. But they can undelegate (take their SP back) at any time. @danielsaori runs a great comment challenge contest with some great prizes; you should check it out. Here's the latest winner's post; have a look at third place and all the prizes :)

Getting to 500 SP allows you to use a percentage slider, so every one of your votes doesn't have to be 100% . It does make it easier to have your voting power last longer. If you use steemworld.org, there's a way to do that even it you don't have 500 SP. Let me know if you want more information on that :)

howdy back Lynn...I read that contest winner's comment and wow, that's some great writing, out of my league. lol. I mean really, I'm not gifted like that. but those prizes are amazing, do you guys have to submit a comment that you think is good?

yeah I joined in Feb but I didn't start posting or working until the third week in April so I reckon that's not too bad for that period of time.
Like a lot of people my wife and I are trying to figure out if I should stay with it because it appears to be a large gamble. and we could use some income.

I have used steemworld to check for mentions and things, does it have a slider for votes on there somewhere?

Comment contest: He gives you the post to comment on and you just have to copy and paste that comment into his post. That's your entry. Easy. And yes, the prizes are amazing.

So if within 3 weeks you are this far along, I'd stick with it. That's incredible!

On steemworld look for Tools:

And here's a post by @bashadow, explaining how to use it. You know where to find me if you get stuck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43