Start of my journey as a Boy Entrant in the RNZAF in 1956

in #history8 years ago (edited)

The big day had arrived.

RNZAF Crest
[image source – 40th reunion book cover]

We had just broken off from school and I had received a letter saying “Be at the RNZAF Depot in lower Auckland by 8.30 am.”

I arrived early. You don’t want to be late on your first date. There were about 200 boys of my own age milling around, trying not to get into trouble. Which at that age can be an almost impossible task.

Then a convoy of trucks arrived, the rear flap was let down to reveal wood slat seats down each side and a pair in the middle.

“All Aboard!”

There was a bit of a tussle to get into the first one. You still don’t want to be late and the first truck is the one we all want to get into. Eventually the trucks are full and the rear flap is raised. Away we go to RNZAF Base Whenuapai, about three quarters of an hour away.

We stopped outside a two storied building, the flaps were dropped and someone shouted “Everybody upstairs!”

We filed into a large theatre room set out with tables and chairs in rows, spaced so there is no cheating, and the first of many examination papers were handed out.

We spent the day doing all sorts of exams, only breaking for a short spell for lunch, sandwiches and a cup of tea.

Finally, we finished and re-boarded the trucks, without any rush this time, to be taken back to lower Auckland. We were then sent home to wait with baited breath wondering “Was I lucky enough to pass?”

The good fairy must have been smiling on me, because about the 10th of January there was a letter.

Be at the Auckland train station to catch the “Limited” express to Wellington and report to Boy Entrant School at RNZAF Woodbourne on the 16th Jan 1956.


Other stories in this series

The continuing story of my journey as a Boy Entrant in the RNZAF in 1956

[Day 2 continued in Boy Entrant School RNZAF](https://steemit.com/history/@len.geor
ge/day-2-continued-in-boy-entrant-school-rnzaf)

Sort:  

I rate your post below with the following ratings on a scale of 1 to 10:

Presentation: 9.5/10 - Great work, some small room for improvement but nothing major.
Content: 9.7/10 - I loved it and not much you could improve on from my personal opinion you really captured it well.
Effort: 9.3/10 - You seem to really love putting effort into your work and I don't think it is just me who noticed it :)
Uniqueness: 9.1/10 - I haven't seen many posts similar to this during my time of lurking through steemit.

Love it fellow steemian!

❤ from ezpz

Thank you for your kind comments.
Have you followed the trail of miss deeds?
Having missed a lot of chances to listen to my father and grandfather I am using this to try and tell some small parts of family history.
Besides if I get in first with the story who is going to say I was wrong?
My son trevor.george has a read before I post so it isn't too much dribble, has learned things as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41