Inside the Berliner Dom (The oldest traces of the City) History of Berlin Continued...

in #history7 years ago

Continuing on from my last post. The Berliner Dom for the short name, or the Evangelical supreme parish and collegiate church in the Hauptstadt can be found in the heart of Berlin, a stone throw away from the Lustgarten park I mentioned in my last post at the Museum Island.

The beautiful architectural manifestation sums up Berlin and central to everything sitting pretty in the middle. An interesting fact about the Berliner Dom is that it has never actually been a Cathedral in the sense of the word as it has never seated a Bishop.

I read the Cathedral has a very long history going back to the 15th Century when it was actually a Roman Catholic Church but to this day now it is Protestant.

You can take a tour of the Berliner Dom and that's exactly what I done inside is breathe taking. The interior is stunning with a golden plated Alter, Sauer's Organ and the stained glassed coloured windows.

What I found fascinating was the tomb stones inside holding 80 tomb stones of the Prussian Royal family. The most impressive stones I found are of Frederick I and his queen, Sophie Charlotte.

DSC_2957.JPG

DSC_2954.JPG

DSC_2946.JPG

DSC_2948.JPG

These Tomb Stones can be found on the left hand side of the Alter when you walk in and also in the halls below as you walk around.

DSC_2993.JPG

DSC_2992.JPG

DSC_2939.JPG

DSC_2944.JPG

DSC_2950.JPG

DSC_2989.JPG

DSC_2953.JPG

DSC_2952.JPG

DSC_2951.JPG

DSC_3015.JPG

DSC_3003.JPG

You can come to the top of the Dom with a 270 step climb which isn't too bad. Along the way you can also take a pause and look at the gallery they have on show of more historic models and photos which is also quite interesting to see

DSC_2998.JPG

DSC_3009.JPG

DSC_3018.JPG

DSC_3021.JPG

DSC_3030.JPG

DSC_3022.JPG

Finally after a few pauses we reached the top of the Dom, because Berlin doesn't have many skyscrapers you get great panoramic views of the city

DSC_3044.JPG

DSC_3074.JPG

DSC_3075.JPG

DSC_3058.JPG

DSC_3046.JPG

DSC_3066.JPG

DSC_3068.JPG

This was an excellent tour and totally recommend you put this on your to do list if you ever visit Berlin

I hope you enjoyed my post and I appreciate all the support you give me. Very grateful for every Upvote, Resteems and Follows so thank you for motivating me to write each day

Thanks for stopping by x

Sort:  

Congratulations @laurenkavanagh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

beautiful post and beautiful model.. upvoted for you @laurenkavanagh

Berlin looks amazing, great photos :)

It is one of the best cities I have been too so much to do here :) Thank you your posts are also amazing!!!

Wow, that's a beautiful "cathedral". I really love the stained glass by the altar.

I know it was beautiful the pictures don't do it justice... Wasn't great lighting but it is beautiful :)

I'm sure, that's how I feel about most of my pictures. Like in the cathedral of Madrid they have beautiful bright stained glass but it was impossible for me to capture the rainow of color when the sun shone through them.

Yeah I know what you mean sometimes it is better just to look and take it all in :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59374.25
ETH 2544.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47