The swimming bird and the sun

in #history6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I went to the National Museum to take pictures of an ornament that I need for my (very much behind schedule) comic. I had to make a pit stop at my wife’s shop to survive on the way back. This much heat in May means the end is nigh.

Anyways?! I was looking for an ornament with the swimming bird that at some time in the late bronze age was seen as the animal that brought the sun around its journey in the sky. Probably an idea from the early Celtic tribes because this bird is often depicted in Celtic art. I also looked at torcs as they play a role in they comic story.


Here is the ornament that I wanted. I saw it the day I took @vcelier to the museum.)


This is the bronze pot. You can see the ornament on the inside.


This was according to the museum supposed to be a combination of a swimming bird and a goat... who knows


Another bird can be seen between the two horse's heads


An adorable little woman.





The beautiful sun wagon from older bronzeage.


As a bonus I also took some pictures of the Hindsgavl stone knife


... and its cousins.

Sort:  

Thanks I really enjoyed that! I love living in the country, but I must admit when I see posts from the great museums I feel like I'm really missing something.

Somehow this reminds me of the Simpsons

Even though you live in the city you often forget to actually go to the museums. But after Vincent's visit (where I bought a year card as I could bring one person), I have been going a couple of times and I am not finished at all!

This little bronze girl takes all the attention. I have people who guessed she was an alien and a biplane pilot. My guess was a social worker from the seventies.

My guess was a social worker from the seventies.

:-D !!!!!!

Beautiful stuff, all of it. I hope we'll be seeing echos of all of it in your art at some point.

Some of it is actually being used right now in the next page of Phill - but i think I will also make a version of this duck boat that carries the sun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64290.64
ETH 3155.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86