You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @maninayton And The Wonderful Fountains Abbey

in #history7 years ago

Fabulous fascinating place. I have been there many times. It has such a wonderful feel to the site. I studied the Cistercian order (Trappist Monks and nuns) for years. I used to spend 7/10 days twice every year in a Cistercian Abbey in Cappoquinn, Waterford until 2010. I love the quiet.
They were a silent order for many years, speaking only in their own sign language to one another. The older monks still use it on occasion.
A really good post with great photographs.

Sort:  

Thanks, @katdvine. I'm pleased you enjoyed the post and that it brought back memories for you. I have toyed with the idea of spending some time in a monastery just to get away from everything for a while.

I would definitely recommend it. I go to Mount Melleray Abbey in Cappoquinn in County Waterford. The monks are of the Cistercian Order.
When I first started going there they had a guesthouse at the back of the cloister. Many famous people have stayed there too. One time I was there Tony Robinson stayed for a few days. Very interesting person. Many authors have enjoyed found inspiration in the silence. I got up with the monks at 4am to sing. psalms.
Now they have a new and modernised guesthouse. One pays only as much as one can afford. I love the Cistercian monasteries because they are not as adorned as other churches etc...they don't do lots of statues etc; their churches are more minimalist. It's all about "just being", they are a contemplative order.
The Benedictines are very similar. One comes away spiritually refreshed.
I live a contemplative lifestyle myself. I am not religious, but I felt very comfortable with this way of life.
I hope you do try it, I think you would find it most beneficial. It certainly taught me to prioritise.

Thanks for that. I think it is something I will definitely do at some point in the future. It sounds the kind of thing that would appeal to me....maybe not the 4am start though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40