Who Am I?

in #history7 years ago (edited)

I came across a person that I thought was very intriguing, so I decided to do a Who Am I for them to see if anyone else knows about the accomplishments. I'd be impressed if you know the answer without looking it up.

Robert_Smalls_-_Brady-Handy.jpg

I was born into slavery on April 5, 1839 in Beaufort SC.
In May 1862 I stole a Confederate military ship
I disguised myself as the Captain
I used the secret code book and hand signals to pass Confederate guard ships.
I rescued many slaves and their families.
I later escaped to freedom
After the Civil War I returned to Beaufort and purchased my former master's house.
I ran for Congress in 1868 and won
I died of malaria and diabetes on February 23, 1915 in Beaufort SC.
Who Am I?

johnwjr7 (1).png

Sort:  

I had to look it up, as such, will not post his name here but found his bio interesting.

You might as well, it seems that no one is even remotely interested anyway. I really didn't think anyone could get it without looking it up. I never heard of the man, but when I came across the bio and read some of it, I thought, "Damn, this guy sure did a lot in his little time on the Earth".

Small I believe , I read about him years ago when studying Fort Sumter , and the blockade of Charleston .
Not sure but I believe he was a Republican , LOL

Close enough. It's Smalls. Robert Smalls. His bio is something spectacular to read. Yes, he was a Republican, but personally, I never pay attention to which party a person is in, as long as they represent the people that elected them.

That was just a pun
There journey down that river was nothing less then incredible .
Robert Smalls , that's it .
His influence on the future of the country made it what we have today . So many great men in our history that are not taught to our young is a disgrace . Instead we want to hide or change it .

You're right. It seems that schools do not teach any of our history correctly. I believe that to do good in our future, we must learn from our past. Learn it the right way, not the politically correct way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.17
ETH 2341.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35