Apartheid for Diamonds: How the Jewelery Trade Enslaved Millions of Africans

in #history6 years ago

Cecil Rhodes was a staunch imperialist and spent his life sending mercenaries around the world plundering developing countries in the name of the British Empire. One of his most profitable ventures came through the conquest of Africa and the creation of the diamond market.

Rhodes founded the world’s most powerful diamond company DeBeers, a cartel that maintains a tight monopoly over the entire industry to this day. To provide stability and slave labor for his diamond mines, Rhodes used the British military to establish apartheid states that were filled with concentration camps and widespread chaos.

South Africa and surrounding areas were the base of his operations. In the past they were even blatant enough to call a territory “Rhodesia” (named after Cecil Rhodes), although eventually the name was changed to Zimbabwe to present the illusion that it wasn’t a British colony.

After a long revolution, on April 18, 1980 the country became known as the Republic of Zimbabwe and apparently became independent, but its political system has been largely the same, and it is still very much a British colony.

The insightful mini-documentary below was filmed in the midst of the revolution against the colonial Rhodesian government in 1976.

Notice how arrogant some of the politicians are during interviews, speaking about how the people of Africa are not smart enough to handle their own lives, and that they are better off with a foreign colonial government. Also, notice how the term terrorism is used to describe the people who are actually the natural inhabitants of the area.


AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY:

My name is John Vibes and I am an author and researcher who organizes a number of large events including the Free Your Mind Conference. I write for numerous alternative media websites, including The Free Thought Project @tftproject and The Mind Unleashed. In addition to my first book, Alchemy of the Timeless Renaissance, I have also co-authored three books with Derrick Broze @dbroze : The Conscious Resistance: Reflections on Anarchy and Spirituality, Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion and Manifesto of the Free Humans

I just won a 3-year-long battle with cancer, and will be working to help others through my experience, if you wish to contribute to my medical bills, consider subscribing to my podcast on Patreon. 

Or donate via:

Bitcoin:  35ZJyqPZqJi7tTCKtMddtnKaGDBnhLEaez
Ethereum: 0xbda87e26ed90e260ed6c101f57a409ce3c90c116
DASH:  XyE2YME982TXHcQo6HZYyWr37R1pnBC3iT 

Sort:  
Loading...

How do you compare Cecil Rhodes to Shaka Zulu?

i despise all tyrants, but the ones who invade neighboring and far away places and export their tyranny elsewhere are a worse breed in my opinion

So you despise Shaka Zulu? And think Zulus are a "worse breed"?

no i despise shaka zulu but i think european colonizers are a worse breed

but the ones who invade neighboring and far away places and export their tyranny elsewhere are a worse breed in my opinion

But this phrase describes the Zulus perfectly (Except the worse breed part) so what is your criteria for judging Europeans as worse? The Boers and Huguenots were fleeing religious persecution.
I'm sorry but your description of Europeans as "colonizer's" is just lazy (Racist?) history, all human beings are colonizers.

it is a complicated issue that takes a lot of nuance to flesh out, and I am not even sure I fully know how to do it yet lol.

As far as the Zulus go, as I said before, I am against all tyranny, so I am definetly not saying that they are good guys here.

Also, I am not saying that all europeans are guilty oppressors, or that there should be some sort of white guilt attached to that.

However, I think that conquest and colonization is one of the most disgusting practices that humans have engaged in, and it is something that should be condemned.

All colonialism is bad, and I know it wasnt just europeans who were guilty of this. Western countries are singled out in these discussions because they happened to be the best at the conquest game, but this is not something that anyone should be proud of.

As someone who comes from that part of the world, I feel that we have a bit more control over whether or not this is socially acceptable behavior in the future, which is why i do my best to speak out against war and colonialism in general, regardless of who is behind it.

Also, it is important to recognize that these conquests still have consequences that ripple into modern times.

This post has been randomly selected and resteemed @steemeely
Good luck and have a great day.

Slave masters replaced by slave masters that exploited the slaves' anger at their previous masters and on and on and on...and of course there was racism before and that's gonna be racism after, violence before and violence after (usually even more), so the oppressed of yesterday would just be pushed into oppress their former oppressors (or what they perceive as such), and the oppressed of today will be pushed into wanting to long for how things were in the past...we can go back to your article on which sides to choose in a revolution....

The NWO agenda always wins, we lose.

Notice how arrogant some of the politicians are during interviews, speaking about how the people of Africa are not smart enough to handle their own lives, and that they are better off with a foreign colonial government.

They sure have been proven wrong!

the way I see it they were never given true freedom or opportunity

Well, guerillas funded by the USSR and China don't make great statesmen, that's for sure... Surely as an anarchist you can't prefer Mugebe to Ian Smith?

as an anarchist I prefer neither, and would prefer that the region was never colonized to begin with

That is a great example of the world today. Some humans dying for other's greed.

The woman wants to appear so the man has to make money whatever it makes. Is is a big picture of the world today but it is a part of the truth.

To kill people, is it bad when it is to save your family ? A few years ago I would have answer that I would have get done whatever it takes to feed my family, that is a man duty. Today I would say that there is always another solution when it's question to make money. And it is most of the time easier when you make money utilising weaker people than by helping them. The really story of the guy in the wolf of wall street is a perfect example. He was doing right things legally but not only that's why he got caught at the end. But he was helping at the same time some young man of a poor area of new york to start from crap. They wanted to feed their family, their were not bad people but they destroyed many lives because of the greed that came with the money...

I am writing all of that of a mac and might reply from my iPhone produced by apple so myself I am actor. That is why I am well placed to talk about it. Am I a good person ? I guess I am trying... But still an actor because our own feed and technology/medical improvement were great excuses.

By wanting more I am destroying people's life, is it my faut, the government faut, Aple's faut or your faut ? Or it might be a bit of everything I guess...

Just saw retired rave promoter on your profil, are you talking about rave parties ?

Hardcore I hope !? Or maybe trance..

lol yeah hardcore and happy hardcore was my thing, Ive booked people like lenny dee, angerfist, showtek, gammer, etc

I was like the only guy on the east coast that did that kinda stuff

You young whippersnappers I feel sorry for you missing the heyday of

HOUSE MUSIC

lol I like house too, but every promoter in the city was doing house and drum and bass parties, I needed to stand out :-P

Drum and bass? Pardon me you old codger pull up an easy chair...I liked Jungle Yard

Many many triggers for me in this video but, one that stands out right now kept on slapping me in the face each time he used terms like "our blacks" or "their blacks". Pure insanity.

In my opinion, their passion for dominance has been inherited in a different form. The issues are sold successfully such as human rights, the environment, the creative industry, etc. Unfortunately, most of the developing nations place themselves as blind followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66014.01
ETH 3472.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68