You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Great War Centenary: The Last Post

in #history6 years ago

After being wrecked by war to suffer Spanish Flu hitting the world I had forgotten that detail. How quickly one forgets struggles people valiantly fought for to make a better world.

Sad to think how many wars have been raged, with little thought to loss of life, another persons feelings.

Thank you for this wonderful series, reminder of what transpired @tim-beck

Sort:  

Thank you @joanstewart. I've spent so much time pouring over the photographs of the young men in the trenches that I've feel I got to know them - on all sides. On Sunday @kiligirl and I saw the wonderful Peter Jackson movie, They Shall Not Grow Old, and there they were in full colour with shells exploding around them. Shew!

Not sure how many movies and books I have read on WW2, you do tend to be drawn into the past. The misery, bravery, hardship people endured, something the youth need to know, it is world wide history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68