"The Packard Sawmill" - Twin Peaks Location in Snoqualmie, WA

in #history6 years ago

I love Twin Peaks. I watched the original series years ago along with the movie. Recently my wife and I (and also my Dad) got really into the new season on Showtime. For Father's Day, Dad and I drove up to Snoqualmie, WA. It's about an hour from my house. We ate at Twede's Diner - known as the RR Diner in the show. We went over to the Sheriff's station and saw the building, as well as the location for the Packard Sawmill (seen in the photo below). I did my best to take a panorama photo from my Canon 5D Mark iv.

1Z7A5412-Pano_edited.jpeg

Above is what the sawmill looks like now. When the first season aired, there was more to it. Then there was a fire. They also incorporated that into the show as well. In season 3, you can see just the stack (on the right in the photo). Years ago, everything in this photo would have been buildings and offices and millworkers. It was a huge, booming lumber town. Snoqualmie has a very cool history. In fact, here's what it looked like below.

1Z7A5409.jpg

Oh, and that big part in the middle of my photo, that's the DirtFish rally school. I think it's for learning performance driving like advanced vehicle control. I don't care about that, though. The sawmill history is what fascinates me. It really is a historic location.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99