Butch Gets Early Release From Prison Cuz He's Such A Nice Guy.

in #history6 years ago

When slumbering in my convict cell my
childhood days I see,
When I was mother's little child and
knelt at mother's knee.
There my life was peace, I knew no
sorrow or pain.
Mother dear never did think I would
wear a felon's chain.

When I had grown to manhood and evil paths I trod,
I learned to scorn my fellow man and
even curse my God;
And in the evil course I ran for a great
length of time
Till at last I ran too long and was condemned
for a felon's crime.


Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas! I'm doing a series on two of America's most famous outlaws, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. They didn't meet until they were in their 30's so I've been talking about them individually. But they ARE getting closer to meeting.

In my last post Sundance/Harry, had decided to do outlaw work full time and had just helped rob a bank and was on foot headed toward one of the well known outlaw hideouts in Wyoming. Butch has been in prison serving a two year sentence for stealing a $5 horse. lol.

The poem above reminds me of Butch and how his mother Annie and him were so close and she tried to steer him away from bad people and bad choices. To no avail.

Life in prison

Doing time in prison at any time in our history wasn't a bowl of cherries but compared to our modern prisons it was rather brutal back then. Butch was sentenced to hard labor and when they said hard labor they actually meant it. By the way, here's where he was sent...The Wyoming State Penitentiary. It still stands but is now a museum:

image.png
source

The philosophy of the day was to work the men, and a few women, very hard with strenuous physical labor so they wouldn't have enough energy to cause any trouble. They'd be so tired that they'd follow the rules which were very strict.

Anyone breaking the rules, even for a minor infraction were sent to the Dungeon, which was a basement. They'd be handcuffed to a chain hanging from the ceiling and there were no windows. Their diet was bread and water only.

That would be considered torture today but was accepted practice back in the 1800's. At least the bread back then would have been natural, organic, non-GMO and pesticide free. Probably didn't get enough of it though since the whole idea was punishment.

The daily grind

The daily work consisted of cleaning out pens and stalls for the prison livestock, taking care of the prison farm and working in the fields, working on the construction projects they had going on like building walls and additional buildings.

This particular prison manufactured brooms so there was work in their broom factory also. For prisoners with good behavior they had rodeos that they put on and baseball games. During the holidays different groups would come and perform for them just like in today's prisons.

Butch gets pardoned

If you've been reading my posts you know that Butch was a great guy to hang out with. He really was, he was funny, friendly, and had a great sense of humor. Here's his mug shot when he entered prison in case you missed that post:
Butch_Cassidy_mugshot.jpgsource

He looks very affable doesn't he? Well, of course the prison agreed. He had a perfect record inside and was a model prisoner. When the President of the United States started pardoning alot of inmates Butch put in for a pardon and actually got a meeting with the President himself who granted his pardon straight away. So the President himself was impressed with Butch.

Butch lied like a dog to the President. You know he did! lol. I'm sure he told the President(by the way, it was Grover Cleveland) that he'd learned his lesson and he'd return to being an honest, hard working cowboy, probably even talked about Annie and how he was raised.

You know for dang sure that he swore to stay away from banks!
No one knows how the conversation actually went but I think we know. He got out 6 months early.

Back to outlaw country

When Butch got out he headed straight to Brown's Park where he'd lived quite a few years because it was a place that lawmen didn't like to venture into and many outlaws used the area to hide out. One of his old friends from the Telluride bank robbery, Matt Warner, had a cabin there and Butch moved in with him.

The first thing Butch did after moving in with Matt was to ride to town and pick him up a brand new Colt 45 six shooter like this:

image.png
source

That's a great gun right there. Colt still makes them too, that should tell you something. Show me something sold in 1894 that is still sold today and is the exact same product. A famous saying goes like this: "God created man. Colonel Colt made them equal." There's alot of truth to that actually. AND women of course.

Butch would say later about his prison time that he went in as a petty thief but came out a hardened outlaw. Gee, I wonder what he'll be up to next?
o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

We'll continue with Butch's story tomorrow where he almost immediately starts robbing banks!

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAN2q1hcq1gKKL81EbE9sk.png

PS- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

You consider new hub-caps to be a home improvement!

pBMyo3B2Sao2EbuHAFTX1CNWMbam25xJGPs4sKmLS6XL7o71wFAUucsafVye3MgguLjwEw2CVywm33PuNruyGbk1kE5eusKhHjkGhmV4pFBxCoLkv6ArefeKCVfVTLuFK5K2oawKZH5PcMbddYgLK7bmpWycdXWBh3TVbq7aZQqHkD26.png

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAN3wfXUQ7yYxKskEYiSjg.png

Sort:  

I wonder if Butch is secretly Jeffrey Epstein's great-great grandfather...lol...

ha! why would you say that mepatriot? What am I missing?

right, got it!

LOL...I had to have like three jokes explained to me yesterday. We must be pushing that old age thing, brother....

Do you guys watch any tv? Because half the time I don't get the commercials at all so I figure it's an age thing! Or else things are getting so dumb that there's no humor there to get.

lol...we do watch some, but we do try to DVR things and so we skip most of the commercials.

oh yeah, we should do that, commercials are such a waste of time!

The way he lied to get out of prison reminds me of a guy I know in Texas...

Well, the 45 ACP is close. 1911 was the date of acceptance with the military, and they are seriously considering returning to that original design. It was that good, LOL!

The design was Browning's, along with the 1919 30 cal machine, the BAR (Browning Automatic Rifle), and the Famous M2 (Ma Duce) 50 calibre Machine gun. The M2 and the 1911 are both still front line military weapons after about a century! My Son has a 1919, and I would Love to have a BAR!

The M2 was originally intended to kill Zepplins...That is how old that design is, ROFLOL!

:)>

sir smithlabs! really, they're thinking about going back to the 1911? ha! in 45? After all this time fooling around with these other guns, that would be something. Very interesting information sir, thank you.

The 9mm (which I carry every day) is a two tapper, to actually stop an enemy. In combat, there is little time for double tapping! That can get you killed....

Interestingly, the modern semi-automatic design is mostly all based on the 1911 due to simplicity, and ease of disassembly for cleaning.My 9mm is divergent, and I have a lot of trouble getting it apart to clean and lube the assembly.

:)>

I guess all that time in prison he was just counting the days till he could get back on the outlaw trail. What do you suppose a Colt 45 cost back in those days? So they still make the very same gun today... isn't that amazing!

I'm sure that he thought about and talked about ways to improve robbing banks and trains, it was like advanced school for criminals. I think the Colt 45 was about $30 back then in the West, probably $20 to $25 in the Eastern cities. Which would be equivalent to 700-$800 in today's dollars.
I love the Colt Peacemaker. I used to have a 45 but I had to sell it. I still have the Peacemaker in .22 caliber, the first handgun I ever owned. I use it now for a snake gun. I use .22 Magnum shot shells.

Very interesting. Now here it's extremely difficult to purchase a handgun. Rifles and shotguns are no problem. I've owned a few rifles and handled and shot just about everything from a Glock to various rifles and shotguns... including a double-barreled 10 gauge. That thing had a hell of a kick if you fired both barrels at once! In later years I owned a few bows and I'm a crack shot with a compound or recurve bow. Now I've got nothing since I blew out my shoulder.... so here I am, unarmed! LOL!

sir Keith! what did you do with your shoulder? rotator cuff? A crossbow should work even with a hurt shoulder right? I think crossbows are something people should have in case the take everyone's guns.

Yes, rotator cuff. I hate to say it, but see this thing?
DSCF9386.jpg

Weighs a ton. I got rid of my last bow when I tore up my shoulder, but after a year my shoulder got better! Now I'd like a nice light-draw compound bow and a bunch of skinny carbon-fiber arrows. Put a broad-head on those and you can still get a high feet-per-second shot. It's kind of funny but I've never shot a crossbow. A friend of mine in Toronto can legally purchase hand guns after going through years of red tape, belonging to shooting clubs, having special safes (two) in which to store the gun and the ammo in the other safe. A whole lot of red tape but it's still possible. His latest purchase was a double-barreled derringer that shoots .410 gauge shotgun shells. Of course, the thing you absolutely can't buy here is an ar-15. I remember having breakfast in some small diner in Oregon and listening to the locals at the next table. Seems everyone owned an ar-15. I guess if I lived there, I would too...

sir Keith! wow that rotator cuff injury is a painful one, but it healed up on it's own? Yeah I wouldn't even try to get a handgun up there. Your friend might have gotten a Bond Arms derringer. It's a Texas company. It's the only one that I know of that makes .410 derringers but there may be other smller ones.
wtg12tcrte.png

Yeah the AR is an excellent choice, too bad they don't want anyone to have them up there. I'd get a legal kit to put together and then stow it away, hide it, just in case society collapsed. that way no one knows anything especially the government.

That looks like it, I know it was from Texas. I thought he called it a Snake Killer or something. If it's for home defence, I don't see what's wrong with a shotgun. Absolutely no problem buying a shotgun here.

yes sir Keith, they call it the Snake Killer so that was it. It feels like an explosion in your hand obviously with nothing to absorb the recoil!
I love shotguns for home defense but in a collapse situation you would also need AR type firepower in many situations. I don't think anythng is going to collapse in our lifetimes, unlike most people on here, lol.
but shotgun for home defense is the number one choice. Especially if you have neighbors fairly closeby.

You know, I don't see anything wrong with prisoners working. But I guess now days only some can work, because the real dangers would come up with some kind of scheme. So there are better kept isolated.

Anyway, our good boy Butch is out and about and has a new colt. Nice! LOL! I can't wait to see what he comes up with next.

Well Miss Lena, I think he learned alot of things about robbing banks and trains in prison so he's anxious to try them out!
I love the concept of prisoners working, I think they all should have to. I think they should have to work as long as it takes to compensate their victims if they were convicted of some type if theft.

All the rest should have to work hard just as part of their punishment instead of letting them sit or lay around all day in the air conditioning eating three meals a day, going to classes, using computers, watching tv, working out, etc etc on the taxpayers money.

Hi janton, I would have liked to taste the bread back then because I agree with you, it was probably free of all the bad stuff we have in our bread today. I reckon that penitentiary got it right - good behaviour led to good things. Really - rodeo and baseball games and early pardons. I believe Burch was a polished con man, lol.

Howdy angiemitchell, sorry I'm late on this comment. Yes Ma'am he was very polished and charming! That bread would be sold today as an expensive health bread, a super bread!

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 97000 replies. Your next target is to reach 97500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Howdy there steemitboard! Thanks for keeping all these stats for me!

When I was a kid one of my best friends (a girl) was obsessed with old cowboy outlaws. I'm pretty sure Butch was one of her favorites, and she seems to have picked well. Those sort of charming characters are fascinating.

haha! yeah she had good taste in outlaws if she liked Butch! Did you see the movie? So far the characters are remarkably like the real men, it's amazing. Paul Newman as Butch was perfect.

He has a pleasant look and like he could be a cowboy.
I see you are using markdown to highlight some words. Looks good and adds variety to the text.

Yes Ma'am redheadpei...he was fine looking, especially when he got all gussied up in his fancy suits. Yeah I use markdown sparingly, I want to do other things but I haven't had time to look them up on that post you did but I have the post bookmarked so I can find it again...someday. lol.

I don't bother with the hubcaps, just paint the wheels...

Butch was obviously an wonderful man, just couldn't leave the easy money alone. Grover Cleveland didn't have such a great run as President, either. Just sayin'

I've got a model '97 Winchester shotgun that was my uncles. Still goes bang every time you pull the trigger. He bought it new in the 30's and used it for bird and rabbit hunting. I'm pretty careful with using light loads in it, though.

Howdy sir bigtom13! somehow I missed your comment so this is late. haha, just paint the wheels! very good sir!
Yeah Grover Cleveland pardoned alot of people. I wonder if any of his political enemies talked about him pardoning Butch later on?
That '97 Winchester sounds wonderful! I wonder how much he paid for it and I wonder how much it's worth now?

I think prison still does that to people .😱😱

Posted using Partiko iOS

howdy sir blanchy! Exactly. Nothing changes, but that's why Mrs. J and I want to set up a half way house because many feel like they have no options and no help when they get out. The situations and stories that Mrs. J is seeing at work is just heart-breaking with the revolving door and especially the girls find themselves trapped in situations that lead them right back into jail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67