You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things I Miss in the Digital Age

in #history6 years ago

People are too separated because of technology.
I miss writing letters.
and playing games on COMODORE 64?
mixed tapes, old rock songs .....
VHS movies,
vinyl....
miami vice (hahahahaha),
walkmen
walkman-plaza.png
Polaroid camera

91u0iTZM03L._SL1500_.jpg

an old alarm clock with a bell

20171120165445461580.jpg.768x0px.jpg

and so on.....

Sort:  

You sound EXACTLY like me, I had commodore 64 setup and wanted to be Crockatt, except when I dressed like that, I didnt look cool, I just looked like an idiot lol and I had that exact same sports walkman..unbelievable. But your point is spot on about detachment and the break in actual human engagement. Even food is ordered online. Thats why its a bit sad.
Im now going to whistle the theme tune to jet set willy all day now!
PS Your early post cred disappeared with the alarm clocks haha ;-)

Yes,that alarm clock was a little bit older. I got it from my grandparents when they were in Germany.
I used it all over the 80's and 90's.
In the middle of the 80th I got an digital am/fm radio alarm clock
but I did not like it (used it once and put it back to the original packaging - maybe it is still in attic).
That's why the alarm clock with bell reminds me on 80's.

everyone had those clocks back then !! and Id forgotton about the digital clock radios !! I must confess i loved mine, waking up to the radio every morning. Now I feel so old !! Need to write something to cheer me up now lol

Yes, I know that "old" feeling.
But still, we have great memories and I am happy for that.
I just look at the pictures from that and I feel much better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48