The Prague Orloj: fountain pen and watercolor pencil

in #history6 years ago

72CD33CD-E0B3-415A-AB78-31664034A03F.jpeg
5x7”, available at: https://www.etsy.com/listing/570459792/prague-orloj?ref=shop_home_active_3

This is one of the most fascinating historical sites on my bucket list of travel.

The Prague “Orloj” is one of Europe’s oldest, still-functioning clocks, and the coolest thing about it is that it is not only an astronomical clock (indicating sunrise, sunset, etc), but it is also an astrological clock as well!

It was completed circa 1410, and has been faithfully maintained ever since, thanks to legends about disaster befalling the city should it ever be neglected. Rumor has it, the original builder was blinded after he completed its construction so that its secrets could not be replicated, and thus, many of its functioning parts remain a mystery.

Other neat features include a variety of wooden sculptures of Catholic saints, the hourly “Walk of the Apostles,” and Death who strikes the time.

For my art, I wanted to try my hand at a more impressionistic style. I sketched first in pencil, then worked with the watercolor pencils, and lastly finished up with my trusty fountain pen (a Pilot Metropolitan, for the curious).

Sort:  

I've personally seen him. The drawing is also good

How cool! What was it like?

And thank you for the compliment. 😊

great, I have never pressed so many asian on me(I like asian girls)

Niiice. What ink do you use in the fountain pen?

I use the IC-100 cartridges from Pilot. (My go-to pen is a Pilot Metropolitan.) They’re inexpensive, and come in a variety of colors, though my favorite are the blue-black and green.

If I remember correctly, Pilot is a relatively water resistant ink. All my Metropolitans are EU versions and take standard international cartridges. So I tend to use a converter with bottled ink.

The cartridges I get are pretty water soluble. Never tried the converter, although both my Metro and my Prera came with them. :) That’s next on the list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45