You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Insults and Sayins of the Old West

in #history6 years ago

I've only heard a couple of these before. They sure did have a way of saying things, though. Now, we're much more blunt and crude I would say. I think part of the fun of it is trying to figure out if it is an insult or not. I'm sure they people they were referring to as stupid, if they truly were, would have to think about was said for a while before they could react. :)

Oh, well. I suppose it's inevitable that all of these sayings and much more would all go by the way as people supposedly got more sophisticated. Or impatient. Or full of self-importance. Losing all horse sense. I don't consider that to be an improvement.

Sort:  

losing all horse sense! spoken like a true cowboy, horses have more snes than people in some respects.
I love the thought you have about stupid people having to try and figure out what was being said to them! lol.

I understand horses like to avoid things like raging rivers and going over cliffs, which some of their riders don't seem to be as concerned about. Or walking into the den of a bear or across the path of a coyote or mountain lion. I understand they're pretty adverse to bullets, fire and explosions, too. :)

Since you've seen the Guardians of the Galaxy, I imagine the stupid trying to figure out things might go something like this :

lol! I love those Guardian movies! I think I told you my wife has a problem with these comic book hero movies but she really likes those guys!
perfect illustration of your point!

The second Guardian movie was a little less interesting...but I still watched it. :D

I think there were probably two main issues with the Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. No definitive villain for most of the movie, though you suspected something was off with StarLord's Dad, and more so when Mantis got a chance to say something, and the humor was forced. Having so much be about the Ravagers and Yondu was fine, it just didn't help there to be a bad guy you were rooting against.

As it is, making StarLord's Dad Ego the Living Planet wasn't really the best of choices, in my opinion. :)

well well well... not only is mr. Glen a novelist and comic book author he's also a professional critic! lol. your points are spot on sir but I DID enjoy seeing Kurt Russell in such a substantial role because I think he isn't popular in most of Hollywood because of his conservatism, is that accurate?

I guess I wasn't fully aware that Kurt Russell was conservative. He seems to pop up in different places, though, like a recurring role in the last few Fast and Furious movies as Mr. Nobody. Looks like things have been picking up more for him with films over the last five years, I just haven't seen most of them. He had a drought where he wasn't in any movies for about four years it looks like.

But he's been around for a very long time, longer than most, and he's only in his late 60s, so he could be around for quite a while longer. Just not likely in as many leading roles as we're used to seeing.

I can be a movie critic. I'm a little bit different in that I suspend reality rather quickly, so I'm not worrying so much about the plausibility of certain actions or events as I am whether or not it all makes sense within the context of the characters and the world that's been created. I also tend to pay particular attention to endings, because more times than not, they're just bad. :)

Comic book movies are probably my specialty though, so I usually have much more to say about them than others. Especially Marvel, since I came to age with those comic books. The Guardians, at least this group, is very new, so I don't know anything about them other than I don't think all of them are unintentionally funny in the comic book series. I think Starlord and maybe Rocket are the only two that usually have the comedy. The rest are much to stoic. I'd have to read the comics before the movies to see what they did with them, but that's typical for Marvel to do.

well sir I like the way you suspend rational thought when getting into these movies but to just see if it makes sense involving the characters. that's an awkward sentence but I'm sure you know what I mean. lol.

hey speaking of words, you're a word guy..I put a word on my profile that isn't even a real word, at least I don't think, I couldn't find it anywhere but it's one that I made up because is sounded right ..no one has caught it but then maybe people don't read those. I do but maybe others don't.

I don't like it when you go to a profile and there's not a single piece of information on there about the person! lol.

I've read that Kurt Russell was very limited in his choices in Hollywood because of his conservative views but maybe that was overblown.

I'm glad that you are really into these movies so I can ask you questions about them, what are you posting about today, is it already written?

I agree, the plot was a disappointment, and the villain was a shadow compared to the first one. The reason for taking over the universe was boring, and weak.

They need to hire a writer! :(

question is: is smithlabs available?

Responding to a 483 letter right now....

But it might be fun at that, LOL! :D

yes sir I still thought it was highly entertaining though and that big guy without a shirt, can't remember what his characters' name was but I think his real name is John Batista or something like that, anyway he reminds me of you so that 's even more entertaining.

Well, I guess I will have to be more literal...so things don't go over my head, LOL! :)

yeah don't let nothing go over your head, that could be embarrassing!

My point exactly, LOL! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55