The symbolism of Greek flag( Now i know too)

in #history7 years ago


Hi all ! Recently I wondered how much I know for my country's flag. I was surprised to admit that I almost knew nthg. I like reading history and I wasn't feeling very good not knowing the symbolism of our flag .So I decided to make a little research. The Greek flag  allow me to say the Hellenic flag is blue and white . This symbols the blue color of Hellenic sea and the white of the waves on a rough sea. It is composed from 9 similar lanes, 5 blue_ 4 white  and a cross up left.  All nine lanes compose the spelling of phrase 'Ελευθερία ή Θάνατος' _ Freedom or Death , which was the slogan in Revolution of 1821 against the Ottoman Turks. Firstly the flag was like that from 1822-1970:

and since 1970 the flag is this :

This was a short report about our flag . 


Have a nice day !

Sort:  

This is really interesting. Thanks for the lesson

Thanks for upvoting . I ll follow you. Follow back if you like .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64536.58
ETH 2626.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83