Come and see an old Dutch Windmill being serviced, very interesting!

in #history7 years ago (edited)

It still turns!!! :-D
IMG_2137.JPG

So I was on my rounds, when I saw this old Dutch Windmill actually turning because of the wind, so I stopped to take gander at it and this guy pops out of the first floor and starts servicing a sail. Very cool to see and I thought I would share! :-D


IMG_2138.JPG


IMG_2144.JPG


IMG_2117.JPG


IMG_2113.JPG


IMG_2121.JPG

Flatrider.

Sort:  

OMG I just visited dutch windmill last week! It's in Iowa. Very cool! Where was this one?

This is in the Netherlands Jon! It was really cool, especially to see one that's actually working. There's a lot them that aren't in working order anymore.

Thanks! I really want to tour the Netherlands some day!

It'll be a quick one Jon, it's not a big Country, but incredibly beautiful and steeped in history. ;-D

In august we are going to see a lot of windmills again when we travel to The Netherlands.

You will see so many, it's the land of the Windmills! :-D

I know...I was born there. :-)

Oh, I'm so sorry Eagleye and there's me thinking you're not from here. I stand corrected! ;-D Which province were you born in?

I was born in 's-Gravendeel (Hoekse Waard), spend my teenage time in Dordrecht. At the age of 55 I moved to Brasil.

Wow! Well, I did the moral thing and looked up where you mentioned, as I had no idea where it was and it seems to be the southern area of Rotterdam, very nice. Good one you moving to Brazil and I hope you are happy out there. The climate must be so different to back here in the Netherlands, was it a big change for you?

I am very happy in Brasil. The climate is indeed totally different. Today is a cold day. It is 21 degrees. You see the difference: 21 degrees in Brasil is considered to be a cold day but in The Netherlands it would be a warm day.

I bet and when it's hot, it's really hot. Good to read you're happy and I hope you have a nice trip when you come back over, to the good old Nederlands! ;-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65834.37
ETH 3292.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70