Awe inspiring picture from 73 years ago

in #history7 years ago

It is hard to imagine what must of been going on in these soldiers heads when the ramp lower and they were faced with machine gun fire.


source wikipedia

I was lucky enough to visit this site just a few weeks ago. While walking on the beach looking up at the dunes in front of a remaining pill box, I was stuck by the certainty that men had died right where I was standing. It was quite a profound feeling that left me a bit despaired. In one of those perfect moments, just when I was at my lowest a child ran giggling down the beach flying a kite (or trying to).

It was only then that I realized, that while there were certainly many people like me, that had come to see the site of one of the most famous battles of history, there were also many families that had just come to enjoy a day at the beach. And while I can not speak for the any of the people that lost their lives that day, in that moment I was heartened with the thought that this is what they fought for, children building sand castles.


I had just intended to write a line about the picture and let it speak for itself, but that story about the beach just bubbled out of me. It's amazing how writing about something can really heighten your feelings and bring them into focus.




If you enjoy these 'Cool Moments in History' please consider following me for more or if you liked this story in particular I'd appreciate a resteem.

Thanks for reading.

@fiveboringgames

Sort:  

I teach history, and I was wondering if I was the only one that remembered D-Day. Thanks for this great photo, and the words to go with it. I've got Band of Brothers on the machine next to me. Watch it every year this time.

I try to watch Band of Brothers at least once a year as well, best mini-series there is in my book.

I watch The World at War ever few years the best world war 2 documetry series around imo.

Can't say I agree with you that no one remembers D-day, if anything I would say it is a bit overrepresented in modern history, compared to all the pivotal battles on the eastern front, even as an avid history buff there are many bigger and more decisive battles than the D-day landings, that I have never heard of. Likely due to the hollywood effect.

But even it is overrated it is justifiable highly rated in it's importance.

I'm with you on that (Bastogne is ignored, mostly, and it's a huge factor in the war); I just wondered if anyone remembered. I heard no one talking about it. Then you did. Made me feel good.

Interesting - Thank you for posting

Great story! Upvoted and followed!! :)

my grandfather was killed on the beach of Normandy by the us soldiers...

Congratulations @fiveboringgames! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76