My historical heroes, best historical periods and events worldwide

in #history7 years ago (edited)

Good day/evening/night to you all. I would like to thank @motordrive for making me post this great post .I have never examined myself before in the past on who and which historical events inspired me. This came as a result of my Liberal Arts background views being asked about by @motordrive with enthusiasm .

@motordrive asked me this on my introductions post here : https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@fidelpoet/greetings-from-harare-zimbabwe

motordrive.png

After @motordrive asked me this question on my previous post I found myself typing so much information that made me think that I should make a post about this topic on my blog. So here I present his answer which I also found interesting to write.

So this page has some of my great Historical figures of all times.These are my own opinions. If you have your own Historical Figures or Historical Events you might as well comment below. I would like to learn more since I am student of life and also succeed from hearing other peoples views.

My Great Historical Figures include(by continent):

Africa:

Image source: https://www.facebook.com/DecoloniseYourLife/photos

Patrice Lumumba

Kwameh Nkrumah

J.J. Rawlings

Nelson Mandela

Julius Nyerere

Joshua Nkomo

Thomas Sankara

I respect these Africans for their dedication, persistence and determination to see their people being free from colonial bondage mostly during the 20th century. These are some of the founding fathers of modern Africa.They are heroes to many Africans because of their passion and dedication to see the continent free. Their works and activities are seen by most African Economic Historians as the first stages of African development.

America

Image source: https://lis471.files.wordpress.com

John D. Rockefeller

Andrew Carnegie

Theodore Roosevelt

Roosevelt aka FDR

JFK

MLK Jnr

Abraham Lincoln

George Washington

Anyone who wants to succeed should not forget the great Americans who made America great today. When most people think of the U.S they think it has always been the superpower leader. The truth is that America began rising to greatness during the late 1800s and early 1900s that by the end of the 20th century she had become the superpower. The rise of America was a result of normal men like us who had innovative minds. After the American Civil War many great men rose from this land blessed with the entrepreneurial spirit.Capitalism is good as long as it does not exploit the masses. America was a success because of its Industrial Revolution which saw great men like John Rockefeller, J.P.Morgan and Henry Ford develop a desert into heaven. Due to these great men America is great today and I respect it. Even Deng Xiaoping a Chinese communist to the core admired the American industrial revolution resulting China revisiting its core principles making it the 2nd richest nation after the U.S. China is now a capitalist nation after coping from the West. I salute the Industrial Revolution and I quote Deng Xiaoping of China 'To get rich is glorious'. Woodrow Wilson indirectly brought the United Nations which save the world today. Now most most people have food, safe water, peace and other goodies because of the UNO’s asistance.

Europe

Image source: https://bibleontap.files.wordpress.com

Leonardo Da Vinci

Voltaire

Adam Smith

Socrates

Epictetus

Michael Angelo

Pythagoras

Albert Einstein

Isaac Newton

I salute these guys for their philosophical ideas which have inspired us greatly on how we operate today. The modern age is a success because of these guys and I can’t imagine today without such men of great intellect. These are the great minds.

Asia

Lao Tzu Quotes.png

Image source: https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.oMj68kJ3AOSRSvlNAsAfPQHaE7&pid=Api

Confucius

Lao Tzu

Sun Tzu

Buddha

Mahatma Gandhi

Deng Xiaoping

Mother Theresa

Confucius and Buddha philosophies are great and I think that's why both are the founders of the great Eastern World religions. I think one should not judge these guys before they see their views and how they have brought peace in both China and India which have the world’s greatest population of more than 2 billion when combined. So I respect Confucius and the Buddha for their constructive positive ideals. Deng is the reason why China is great economically today so I salute him. The author of the Art of War is also a great strategist. All military commanders and aspiring leaders make use of his philosophy when leading people. I also respect all the great inventors of the 18th and 19th centuries in Europe, and Japan.

Middle East

()

Image source: http://2.bp.blogspot.com

Jesus of Nazareth

Mohammed

Jesus is the most influential person in this modern world. He is one of the most respected in the Islamic and Christian religions which are followed by over 80% of the modern world. His teachings of love, hope and faith(confidence) cannot be ignored. Mohammed of the Saudi Arabia also had a good message although some of his followers used his philosophy for self-interests. Mohammed speaks of love and racial equality. We must be religious tolerant to understand what these guys left for us.

To believe in the heroic makes heroes( I forgot who said that) .So follow some of these men’s philosophies and you will find yourself living a better life.

On Historical Periods these are the ones I appreciate so far:

1..Industrial Revolution

2..Internet Revolution

3..Agrarian Revolution

4..Medieval Era

5…Modern Era

6...Blockchain / Bitcoin Revolution

Since I am a Progressive I support these historical periods for obvious reasons.

Lastly the Historical events I respect include:

1...The birth of Jesus of Nazareth

2..The signing of the American Declaration of Independence

3...The spark of the French Revolution resulted in modern democracy

4...The fall of the apartheid regimes in South Africa and Namibia

5...The fall of racial segregation in Rhodesia, USA, India and the rest of Africa

6...The fall of Hitler, Stalin, Mao, Idi Amin and other autocrats

7...Creation of the United Nations Organization

8...The Wright brothers aeroplane success

Please note I will be glad if you correct me on the incorrect Historical data if I am not correct.

Follow me @fidelpoet if you liked this.

By FTK aka @fidelpoet.

21 Dec 2017

Copyright 2017

https://skillatoh.com/

I am still a newbie and I would be glad if you guys teach me how to cite image sources and videos like the other pros on this forum. Thank you and have happy holidays and a prosperous 2017.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fidelpoet to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

hello, please follow the rules in the group ↕ Resteem to steemit, the main rule is to resteem someone from the group and then post in the group and other people will resteem you.

Do you know how to resteem ?

ok ok thanks for the advice...........let me do as you said

Congratulations @fidelpoet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!