Walking This Old Earth... Learning History I Never Knew

in #history6 years ago

Apparently Magellan was given more credit than he was due (not really surprised). What I was surprised to learn was that this young guy named Enrique was actually the kid responsible for getting Magellan and his well-known mission around the world!

Enrique de Malacca was their interpreter and, perhaps, the first man to circumnavigate the world.

Here’s a good short video I found about the whole Magellan expedition, which also summarizes Enrique’s story.

Artist Manuel Pañares depicts little-known historical characters of distinct importance, like Enrique, to help tell their stories. I saw this painting at For San Pedro in Cebu City, in the Philippines and was intrigued by this story.

A5920982-1F41-496E-95F8-CD222A1F422D.jpeg

It’s amazing to me to imagine a 14-year-old boy who was taken from his home and had such an intense journey - perhaps an amazing adventure, though likely rought with struggle.

I find myself wondering what might have happened, how things might be different today, had he not been there, or not been able to communicate with the Cebuano people when he and Magellan’s crew reached Cebu...

52298C08-A826-450C-8D2E-CE33FD3191A8.jpeg

I’m now in Indonesia, which is where Magellan sought to stake a claim for Spain (and gather wealth from the expensive spices here: clove and cinnamon).

I feel this amazing sense of whoa when I think about the fact that I am walking on the same earth (literally, the same ground) as so many different people of the past... People whose life choices made huge ripples which are felt to this day.

99752B36-61BC-4BC2-9458-AA509CCC89AB.jpeg
Image source

I wonder what the future here will look like. Here in Indonesia, in the Philippines, in Oregon, on Earth...

I can’t really know, of course. But I know I will keep making ripples... I just strive to create ripples that contribute to a benevolent, peaceful future. I’m learning how to do this all the time, and I’m not perfect, but I’m enjoying the process, and I really think that makes a difference!

I am so grateful for this life. I hope you remember to think of something you are grateful for today, too.

:)

6EE367BB-5384-4F90-B665-1645C181AE25.jpeg

—-

I post my thoughts, feelings, paintings, poetry, and whatever else I feel like on steemit @em-blem :) follow me if you like!

Sort:  

History they say were written by victors, which one have a 100% truth in it? They do give interesting reads and stories.

I agree! I don’t try to figure out whose story is true or not anymore. Because who really knows?! Probably not even those who were there (they’d all have different perceptions anyway). But the stories themselves are often interesting!

They are,otherwise no one reads them. Let alone study them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69