You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A brief history of bass guitar virtuosity...

in #history7 years ago

I started around July 7th of last year. As to purchasing steem. Since half of post pay outs are in steem power I just use that. I have converted some of my other half to steem power, but no I am from a poor family and we don't actually have any spare money to buy things like that. Which is why I didn't buy bitcoin when it was less than $0.01 per coin. Couldn't justify taking food money from my family.

I've never powered down my @dwinblood account though I've only powered it up.

Sort:  

Sounds interesting...what does power down mean?

You can convert your steem power into steem. You can then actually sell your steem on and exchange and get money, other crypto for it, etc.

Steem Power reflects how much you can reward people with a vote, and generally how much power you have on the platform. It kind of represents your INVESTMENT and SUPPORT of the steem blockchain.

Powering down will put you into a mode where it will give you 1/15th of your steem power as steem every 7 days until it is gone.

They made it take time for several reasons. It prevents people from crashing the currency by pulling a lot of it out at once.

It also has a delay so if your account is stolen it will take them 7 days before they could even get 1/15th of it. It should take 15 weeks or more to get all of it. That's some pretty good opportunity for you to react and do something about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55