You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A brief history of bass guitar virtuosity...

in #history7 years ago

I only played it some. I wanted to start playing bass, and all I had was an acoustic guitar. This was about 3 decades ago. I learned on that, and then I just stuck with guitar. I wanted to play bass because of Cliff Burton.

I ended up being friends and roommates with bass players while I played guitar and I'd often play theirs. Really I don't play just one instrument. I also play Cello some, though not particularly well as guitars are my interest.

I don't currently own a bass, but I want to buy one. I am going to shop for a new guitar today, but I'm thinking of going for a 7 string. I may buy a bass after that though as I've wanted one for awhile.

Here are some old posts I wrote about the guy that made me want to play bass. I didn't know of Jaco back then I was very young. I actually learned of Jaco from my bass playing roommate a couple years later.

Here is my two part post on Cliff Burton from last year.
Who was Cliff Burton? - Some musical history - another great - another tragic loss
Who was Cliff Burton? - Part two - Bass player, amazing and gifted person, tragic loss.

He died... and at the time he died he was very unique and doing unique things. I think he would have gone on to inspire a lot more people.

Sort:  

Thanks sounds interesting.... Where are you from?

Westminster.... Northern Suburb of Denver.

Do you like the Broncos?

Nope.. I have no interest in what I call sportsball. :) Which is an inside joke label those of us that don't really care about sports use to refer to them.

I've been to a broncos game in person, and it was for me one of the single most boring events of my life... if I drank alcohol, which I don't I may not have noticed... My dad when he was alive liked sports and the broncos a lot.

Hehe that is funny. What do you do?

I learn, I build things, I create. Hell just look at the huge variety of topics I post about. I actually have so much to do I really wouldn't have time for sports.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55