You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tobruk part one: An introduction - Rats in a trap? Not on your bloody life mate!

in #history7 years ago

This is a really good article. The first time I can remember hearing about the Desert Rats was as a kid on a television series called the “Rat Patrol.” Running circles around the Germans in lightly armed Jeeps made for exciting TV but it must have been pure hell for the men who had to actually do it. They were tough bastards for sure.

Sort:  

Thanks mate, I’m proud of the Aussie blokes but there were British and Indians there too! The British commando’s did some pretty daring stuff as well. Of course on the other side (Axis powers) there were some outstanding soldiers who went through similar hardships and suffering also. War is hell, they say. I did part two tonight and will do part three mid-week I think. I reckon I’m going to flip it and give a different perspective rather than from the Australian’s point of view. We’ll see. The Rat Patrol was so cool! I recall the show too. Loved it as a kid.

Thanks for commenting favorably mate. I hope you have a great Sunday. Mine is just about over. It’ll be weekend + one soon (Monday) and the rat race starts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38