Growing up in the 1970's - Peace, Love, and invention. My Story. GO STEEMIT -

in #history7 years ago

THE 1970's - Queen, Fleetwood Mac, Rolling Stones, The Who, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Jethro Tull, The Begees, Super Tramp, RUSH, STYX, Beach Boys, and the list goes on and on. Yes indeed, the 1970's was not only a great time to live as a kid, but also was historic in the music it brought to the World. Not to mention the fact that the clothes ROCKED. The invention of Bell Bottom pants, silk motor cycle shirts, glitz, and shiny shoes.

I myself remember my brother as a 15 year old wearing Corduroy Paints, a thick leather belt and a silk motor cycle shirt unbuttoned down to just above his belly button. Oh the times were sensational.

I was born in 1969. When I was only 3 months old my parents put me in front of the television set to watch the Moon Landing. When 1970 came around I was 1 and ready to take on the World. I vividly remember having a little red record player with a 45 record playing the song "Doggy in the Window" Of course I can never forget the song "Rain Drops Keep Falling On My Head.

Another fond memory I have from the 1970's was all of the really cool low riders and motor cycles (choppers, street racers, and beefed up Harley's). I remember gangs of motor cycle enthusiasts all decked out in biker vests and tattoos riding in the center of Santa Fe. What a time it was.

The 1970's was a time of experimentation and imagination. How can any of us forget the Movies of the 1970's. Here are some popular films that each of us I'm sure has seen from the 1970's: Smokey and the Bandit, JAWS, The Exorcist, ROCKY, The Godfather, ALIEN, Apocalypse Now, The Sting, Halloween, Saturday Night Fever, Close Encounters, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Super Man, Dirty Harry, Rocky Horror Picture Show, Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, The OMEN, Grease, and finally the all great STAR WARS !

As far as television goes the 1970's was AWESOME! I remember always gathering around the TV to watch Happy Days, Little House on the Prairie, Brady Bunch, All in the Family, Bonanza, MASH, The partridge family, The Jefferson's, Bewitched, Odd Couple, Gun Smoke, The Six Million Dollar Man, Three's Company, the Walton's, Love Boat, Bionic Woman, Rockford Files, Welcome Back Kotter, Mork and Mindy, Columbo, Taxi, Fantasy Island, Sonny and Cher, and the list goes on and on and on.

Yes, the 1970's gave to the generations of the future in Cinema, clothing, music, Television, and Space Travel.

If you were born in the 1960's or the 1970's and grew up in the 1970's I SOLUTE you. The Best time in the World to live in my humble opinion. Have a great day and Keep Steeming.

This Article was completely written by Me, Tim Crowe
Article was re-posted due to low readership.
(Every Image used in this Article was taken from Google Imaging Search 1970's)

Lets continue to STEEMIT. Great site Steemit is. Cheers.

Sort:  

Great post and amazing pics😊

Seem like a great place to be.

Thx for sharing @crowe

Thanks tranguyen. It was a wonderful time to live.

Very lovely article
Keep it up

Loved this post taking us back in time ;) I wish I was born in that era the fashion looks amazing and I also prefer the music back then too!!! The music today just isn't the same :(

O my how wonderful was it not. All that fantastic music that takes one back to your youth. These songs still bring worderful memories back to me. Thanks for sharing, pity it now falls under history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58