You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cowry Shell: An History Lesson of an Ancient Money

in #history6 years ago

I love how I seem to learn something new from each of your posts!

Growing up, I remember getting into my mom's jewelry and she had one very long necklace made with 2 rows of these cowrie shells. It would hang to my knees, so it was obviously meant to loop around one's neck a couple times.

Anyway, my parents are from the Azores islands. The Portuguese we're some key players in early exploration and trade routes. Now I want to go ask them if that necklace that I used to tinker with has a backstory!

Sort:  

Thank you @crowbarmama!! That’s really interesting ! Its great to here real life examples of the use of Cowrie shells. I wonder if my mom has some. Ill have to ask her:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67