You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today I went to Fountains Abbey in Yorkshire (with my drone) because it has been calling me since I arrived in the UK...

in #history5 years ago

Woah! This is incredible.

I can feel the sacred nature of this site from here. There is something about the location that holds a power to match and magnify the care and skill that went into carving the stones of the beautiful architecture.

Imagine the people who once lived in this Abby chose to give up all their worldly possessions to instead humble themselves to the lowest depths of servitude for the rest of their lives. They spent every day meditating behind these drafty stone walls praying alone and with others without any distractions. How hard is it for us to take out even one day in our own lives to separate our thoughts from worldly responsibilities?

I don't blame you for wanting to spend the entire day there. Truly an inspiring place to give birth to a wonderful painting that will ignite memories for years to come.

The river stream looks like my favorite place. I could sit there all day enjoying the babbling waters and the sunlight reflections.

Sort:  

Sacred for sure. Hard to imagine what life was like when this place was fully functional. As I said, I believe it was at a time when humans lived in harmony with each other & were more advanced than we are now.

Whatever it was, it makes for a great day out ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44