Civil War SlaverysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history7 years ago (edited)

I been a civil war buff now for 15 years now with all the controversy with the Confederate statues.  I have a question was the war really over slavery?  When Abraham Lincoln placed the emancipation proclamation he only freed the slaves in the southern states.  Why didn't he free the slaves in the northern states?  Because 7 states would have left the Union.

Abraham stated that he was not fighting the war over slavery.  The war was over states rights over a central goverment not slavery.  The south was fighting for the same thing that we fought for in the revolutionary war.

Don't get me wrong slarey is wicked and never have happened.  What I'm saying is not to just accept what the school books say but to study further into things.

Sort:  

The real question for me is how can a President of one country free someone
in another country.

Have you been to any of the battlefields? I live near Franklin, TN where that battle was fought.

Yes i been to Gettysburg, Harpers Ferry, Sharpsburg. I was a civil war reenactor for 7 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49