Sort:  

Domesticating or cross-breading the bison would have been a better choice since the bison were tailored by nature for the grasslands.

However, they would have remained as the food supply for the Indians, and that would hinder the westward expansion and we probably would have ended up in the same place. Homo Sap always chooses the "correct nature's mistake"solution.

I agree, there is actually a farm down the road that has some "Beefalo" they are pretty wild looking animals, but pretty close to Buffalo. It's funny they have them in a field with llama, emu, peacocks, donkey, and horses. Quite a menagerie.

I have an Emu, had a donkey, chickens, and goats; always wanted a llama, and fancied getting a horse. I ended up with eight goats and then the donkey and the Emu. It has been a zoo around here!

I read that all the buffalo outside of Yellowstone have cattle mixed in their DNA. They look much more like majestic animals in the wild.

Traveling in northwestern New Mexico, I saw a beefalo in a 20 by 20 foot fenced area next to a cheap tourist trap. The poor thing had pure sand without a blade of grass to even pretend to graze on,and a water trough, but no shelter. I assume they fed it.

It broke my heart to see the poor herd animal totally alone in that pen.

Yes, being alone would suck. I was thinking I saw some along a few of the long stretches of highway in Kansas 10 or 12 years ago, but maybe they were not pure blooded. It was large open land and quite a few of them, it was a beautiful site.

There is something restful and pleasing about seeing a herd of grazing animals. That always causes me to slow down - and sometimes stop - just to enjoy. I saw a small herd of Highland cattle in Montana and stopped to "take a quick look" that lasted over an hour, and he same thing again in New Mexico in passing a group of two dozen llamas. I waited until they ambled over to me and I got my temporary fill of petting llamas. Not a soul in sight and not a vehicle passed in a full hour. Simple things, but ended up being the best parts of that long drive.

The simple things are usually the best part of life....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43