You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Templars and Hospitallers: backbones of the Latin cause in Palestine?

in #history7 years ago (edited)

And now we remember them as a corrupt order. It's amazing how so many church orders went from sincere to down right hypocritical. I'm reminded of this passage from a book I read.

The brothers, forbidden to speak at meals, developed an elaborate sign language. At least 100 signals have been recorded. Giraldus Cambrensis...thought he was watching a stage play, with all the gesticulations and whistling that went on. Another scholar reports that when the monks were forbidden to communicate with their hands, they talked with their feet.

The Middle Ages by Morris Bishop

Reading through your sources one name stuck out to me: Denys Pringle. What type of person would deny people Pringles? 😲

Oh, and congratulations on that post payout! (makes me happy since you're on my autovote list 😂)

Sort:  

Shucks, thanks Carn :D

haha @ pringles. Now I want snacks, dammit!

The Templars got crossed off my xmas card list after I read The Holy Blood & The Holy Grail. ;)

They've been in my bad book since Ivanhoe 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81