You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our World in the 7th Century A.D.

in #history7 years ago

Easily one of the handful of best posts that I have read on Steemit in my 52 days on the platform. I am so glad you found my super duper upvote and resteem service! This is a resteem WELL EARNED my friend. I am a dungeon master so of course I spend a lot of time doing pretty much this exact kind of thing but for a fantasy world. I draw heavily on real world history though because real life is always a lot weirder and cooler than fantasy, as a general rule of thumb. Reading this post got me wanting to start up an "Earth 666 AD" low magic D&D game. I have gamer ADD. Bad brain, down.

Anyway this was a great read, terrific job synthesizing what I know had to be many hours of research down into a focused and easily digestible morsel for each of your regions.

Two notes - is it an omission or were you just unable to determine the population of Mongolia and Siberia-600-700 A.D? I was actually particularly curious about the relative population there vs. China so I noticed that it was missing.

Second I have done a lot of research on pre-contact South America and I think you are wildly underestimating the population there at the time. Would be happy to share some sources there if you want.

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

Hey thanks man. First, I'm a big fan of RPG myself, I just finished a Star Wars edge of the empire campaign. I've seen some folks try to do one on Discord, but it kind of seemed like a mess. Still I'd be interested in a Discord game.

It was actually an omission for the population of Northeast Asia. Any information I can find now suggests less than a million, and in fact the population of Mongolia today is only 3 million. There's a really cool website about population I found: http://worldpopulationhistory.org/map/712/mercator/1/0/25/

Bring the corrections on, I'd be happy to know more about S. America. I was actually expecting a lot more by now. I'm not a real historian so I knew I'd get something wrong.

Nice to meet you, let's stay in touch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44