The things divers find in the sea...

in #history7 years ago (edited)

When I was a kid I was always told stories about the titanic and how it was preserved underwater with a spooky preservation of what was once there. I suppose this interest was started when I watched Indian Jones for the first time wanting to be an exporter. However today I saw this image that I thought was truly amazing:

screencap1-9-752x501.png

This image is whats left of a american transport ship that was sunk but a German U-boat. I believe this was to ship this tanks to the mainland UK. To me these tanks look like Shermans but correct me if i am wrong.

download (1).jpg

This fuled my excitement for finding history for myself but .... I could not do it on the same level. This lead me to looking into metal detecting. It is interesting what history you can find with just a simple bit of kit.

(not my video)
credits : militaryfinder1945
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClGDbuxWGAfVXrtqMq5v4uQ

As I live in the UK finding WW2 items may be a bit tricky but in the past I have also seen metal detectors find going all the may back to the Roman times:

Marcus_Aurelius_Denarius2.jpg

I believe this has convinced me to buy my first metal detector :)

Sort:  

I would like this one there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33