You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Shocking truth about the Holocaust ( Berlin History )

in #history7 years ago (edited)

How the world sat silent and watch this horror unfold still surprises the heck out of me.

What is the symbolic significance of the raised block (the one you were standing on) in the memorial ground photos? Graves?

Sort:  

I know it was a dreadful time... It surprises me also how some countries just stood by and let this happen!!

I think the design is to interpret a cemetery thats what I got from it and they were in different levels... Some very high felt quite claustrophobic when I was walking through them can imagine thats how it felt in the concentration camps. Maybe? That was what I felt

Yeah, I'm of the same opinion, the design is definitely to create a sort of claustrophobic effect so that visitors can sort of feel what the prisoners must've felt being locked away in cells all crammed together!

It's good to know some of this history.

In the words of George Santayana, the
20th-century Spanish-American philosopher associated with Pragmatism:

Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.

I just resteemed and upvoted this :)

Yes it definitely felt crammed I can't imagine what it would be like to visit one of the concentration camps if that was just a memorial ... Think that would be a lot worse

Thank you I enjoyed writing about it... This was the only thing I enjoyed leaning in School back in the days think that's why I passed with flying colours.

The words of Santayana are very true!!

Thanks for the Support glad you enjoyed :)

You are most welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47