THE AKARA BALL(THE HISTORY BEHIND IT)

in #history7 years ago (edited)

Well AKARA is the name given to a food or should I say snack, it is very common in Nigeria. People eat it mostly with akamu also known as pap. Alot of people don't really know the history behind the THE AKARA BALL.

IMG_20180316_082642.jpg

well on my trip to the people's paradise, CALABAR. I made a post of how I visited the museum, well at the museum our guide said something interesting about the AKARA ball.

I grew up with this mentality or a may say idea that the AKARA ball was made by our forefathers, but I was wrong. Well I think am running too fast here(don't you think so?), so first off let me guide through the nutritional benefits of this AKARA.

IMG_20180316_082621.jpg

NUTRITIONAL BENEFITS

  • They are known to cut the risk of cancer

  • they help the heart

  • they are nutritious

  • they help in the reduction of the blood sugar

  • they are equally low in fat

That's not all the benefits there is, but that's all I know for now.

Now on how to make and AKARA ball you will need a cup of Beans (black-eyed or brown beans) or as many as you want. You will also need a habanero peppers, you will equally need the help of the chilli peppers. An onion, Salt to taste and finally Vegetable Oil for frying.

They are tools you will need which include a Blender for the beans and onions and the pepper and finally the Mortar and Pestle for making sure the mixture are clear of any hard part. After that go ahead and round it like a ball(small ball) and put it in the frying pan.
(INCASE I MISSED ANY STEP PLEASE LET ME KNOW VIA COMMENT)

And we are back, well the AKARA began with a Brazilian woman who brought AKARA to Africa to entice the wild men. She did all this to gain access to our raw material, which we knew nothing or little about.

Well I hope you I was able to educate you about the AKARA ball

Remember it's

Your boy

@BIGGIJAY

Comment

Upvote

follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77