You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tales of Pirates - Bartholomew Roberts "Black Bart"

in #history6 years ago

I guess we all have a thing for brave mischievous people. There were many of them who weren't ruthless, one of those is Samuel Bellamy, also known as Robin Hood of the Sea, I will write an article about him at some point ;)

Sort:  

I am so looking forward to reading that! I have a personal interest. My father was from the Bahamas, where there was historically lots of pirate activity, so the subject fascinates me. And some of my ancestors were slaves, probably traded from the Gold Coast, so the slave ship incident touches a nerve.

I am sorry to hear about your ancestors :( It is terrible what powerful did to the weak in history, it feels like a part of another world here in my country as slavery never existed here. Closest to slavery here was the treatment of prisoners of war over 1000 years ago which was still more humane. When Byzantine soldiers were captured they were forced to work, but they were treated the same as the sons of family under the head of household they were put into. They worked the same jobs and in the same conditions as rest of as the rest of household with only exception that they had to stay for certain amount of time. After the time they were sentenced to ended, they were set free and given the payment for the time spent working. At that point they were offered a choice to return to Byzantine empire or to stay as equal members of Slavic community. Most decided to stay, as they lived in better conditions here even during their time as forced laborers.

Thanks @arrrados. I don't personally feel bitter about the slavery – more sadness that these things happened and still happen in some places. My mother is English, but my ancestors on her side of the family worked in the mills of Yorkshire from childhood, in harsh conditions – so many people in the countries where slavery was allowed also suffered.
Interesting too about the Byzantine soldiers, who probably developed more loyalty as a result of their more humane treatment. It's good to learn from all this.

I will write more in depth about it when I start writing about Slavic and Illyrian mythology and culture. I feel the same about cruelty, it is hard for me to understand how anyone can view other people as tools or derive satisfaction from hurting someone innocent...

I look forward to reading more from you!

I can't wait for this one!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58