History of Clan DouglassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history7 years ago

The Black Douglas - Castle Of The Stars Teba Spain 1330. With Robert Douglas known as the Black Douglas took part in seventy battles. The Black Douglas was at the bedside
of Robert the Bruce when he died. Fighting back tears Sir James listened as Bruce Scotlands greatest king, asked him to carry his heart to the holy land to lay in the
holy sepulchre the tomb of Jesus. After his death Robert the Bruces heart was removed from his body and placed in a silver casket which was carried by the Black Douglas around
his neck with a string of silk and gold. The Black Douglas and other Scottish Knights were well recieved in spain and met with king Alfonso XI.

King Alfonso of Spain - Alfonso asked the Black Douglas to help him in a battle against the the saracens before moving on to the Holy Land. Douglas agreed and together
with other knights Scottish and English they fought at the Battle of Teba in 1330 against the Saracens. The Scottish and English Knights were not used to the fighting
style of the Saracens and Pursued them to far when they fled during the battle. The Saracens suddenly turned on mass and sourrounded the knights. Douglas tried to get away but
saw that Sir William sinclair of Roslin was in trouble and tried to rescue him. The Black Douglas threw the heart of the Bruce into the enemy shouting he would follow
the heart of the Bruce into the enemy shouting he would follow the Heart of Bruce in Death as in life. Douglas and the other Knights were cut into pieces by the Saracens.
The Remains of the Black Douglas were brought home to Scotland with the Bruces, Heart which was buried in Melrose Abby.

Clan Douglas - The Douglases are an ancient clan or noble house from the Scottish Lowlands. The Douglases take the name from Douglas in Lankarkshire, their leaders
gained vast territories throughout the borders, Angus, Lothan, Moray, and also in France and Sweden. The Douglases was one of the most powerful families in Scotland, the most
prominent family in lowland during the middle ages, the Douglases held the real power behind the throne of the stewart kings.The Heads of the Douglas ( Black Douglas ) and later
and later the Earl of Angus ( Red Douglas ). The Clan does not currently have a Chief recognized by the Lyon court prevent him from assuming the chief of the name.

My name Sir Anthony Douglas and the Douglas Clan were my ancestors. I am very proud to be a Douglas, I honor the name because its my family and I will die for them
if I have to. I recently did the research on my clan, and I have to admit I am very Surprised to see how much history I have to my name. My ancestors fought along
side with Sir William Wallace. Sir William Wallace was a Scottish knight who became one of the main leaders during the wars of Scottish Independence. William Wallace died
died August, 23, 1305. Clan Douglases moto is Jamais arrière (Never behind) Tender and true Forwards. Our Slogan is A Douglas! A Douglas! Our crest is On a chapeau, a green
salamander surrounded by fire. My father and I have the crest Tattooed on our shoulder blades with my father's grandfather's ashes rubbed into it. If thats not true blood
I Don't know what is. Our tartan was worn by the former British Army Regiment, The Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) and is still worn by the Royal Gurkha Rifles.
In its grey form, it is worn by the officers of all Scottish squadrons of the RAuxAF as part of their mess uniform. This is just a little background history of me
more to come later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49