Old Vicorian coin found in my garden.

in #history6 years ago

IMG_3292.JPG

While doing some work in the garden yesterday I came across an old coin, at first I thought it was just a two pence piece that had been dropped but when I picked it up I realised in was an old one penny from Victorian times. You can see the date the coin was made which is 1896, over 35 years before our house was built.
The coin wont be worth anything as it is badly worn and someone has drilled a small hole though it, probably to hang it from a chain or something.

It may not be a life changing find for archaeology, growing up my mum and dad had a bag full of the same coins we used to play with, but it's always nice to find something old.

IMG_3290.JPG

Sort:  

Clean it up and get it evaluated.

Must feel good... it's still got silver in it!

That coin is in bad very bad shape. Anyway, a penny for your thoughts (pun intended).

It could be polished up and put back on a chain...an interesting conversation piece!

That is cool! I have a 1900 penny - and it also has a hole in it for a chain, so it's not worth anything either ... but I still think stuff like that is cool. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71