You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Baronet's Badge, Bat or Bt

in #history6 years ago

Great award history! Please, what's 'peerage'?
And I wonder how much an income of 1000 ponds a year would have amounted to at 1611. I couldn't even find it in google. It must have been worth a fortune, no wonder the award rank is only not greater than 3 knighthoods. That's the Order of the Garter, the Order of the Thistle and the dormant Order of St Patrick.
Well done @len.george, thanks.

Sort:  

Another way of saying Lords, Nobels, and other high ranking people.
Something we won't have to worry about.
I was told years ago a way to guess the today price of an old one.
add "00" per hundred years to the number
so 1691, call it 1700 to 2020 = 3.2 .
1100 with 3 additional 0s = 1,100,000
not cheap, it is only a very rough estimate, don't bet on it.

Where are you from?

Thanks for the explanation. I really appreciate. And 1.1mil is a very huge money.
I'm from Nigeria in Africa.
What about you, where are you from?

With everything about Royal NEW ZEALAND Air Force, NZ Awards, if you guessed NewZealand you were right.

I had that guess but asked though. Pardon my curiosity, are you a history teacher in New Zealand? You seem to know so well about your country and that's great.


the dot 3/4 way down the map is close to home.
if you can go to my home page, go back to January 17 when I stated in here, there is a series of my early Air Force times.
I never have been a 'Teacher' but have a reasonable memory and like to talk a lot'
tell me/us more about you and your country.
I will be following to read them

Thanks, you've got a treasure in your head. I'll love to tell about my country so watch out!

keep them small, lots of pictures if you can[don't forget to source them if they aren't your own]
try for 1 a day, and if possible, the same time of the day, so the readers know there should be something from you.
most of all, Have Fun.

I'll sure try to keep it at the same time of the day. Like I said though, I'll try. I hope it works that way.
But as for one post a day, that'll work. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55