Freshman Part 4 (Spice >.<)

in #history7 years ago (edited)

Video 5 of 9

Quick recap: Salvia was my first drug experience and went very well. Unfortunately, it planted a nasty seed in my mind. I actually believed legal drugs were legal because they were not dangerous. Using this mentality, I discovered Spice (synthetic cannabis or K2).

Spice was probably one of the worst things to happen to me in college. Again, I did not do enough research, and I would not recommend anyone else try this. I got my first batch and excitedly rushed back to my dad's house. I think one of my older brothers was there as well. I was so excited, hoping it would be somewhat similar to Salvia. I took my first hit, and to my surprise, I took off incredibly fast. I was filled with euphoria and a kaleidoscope of thought. My dad and brother also tried and thought it was a good novelty, but didn't show much interest in trying again. It's kind of funny because my first problem with Spice was that I actually liked it too much. This was the beginning of my first experience with ADDICTION! Though it only lasted a couple months, I managed to lose several close friends to this substance. I was so excited about it, I insisted they try. And though, I personally never experienced anything negative from it, some of my friends sure did. A few had mild panic attacks, one person actually had a small seizure, and as you can probably imagine, no one enjoyed it like I did. This was the most alienated I've ever felt. And with my friend circle shrinking, I started using Spice more and more. Eventually to the point that my life was consumed by it. After a couple months, I simply ran out. I was a broke college student at the time so that ended my smoking relationship. And just like Salvia, Spice too was eventually outlawed.

Here are a few important lessons I've learned from this experience:

  1. Legality does NOT equal safe

  2. Every drug is different and reacts differently to different people (some of these drugs can actually be dangerous)

  3. Responsibility is key when diving into the unknown

  4. Don't trust governments or schools to teach you which witch is which (RESEARCH RESEARCH RESEARCH!)

Later in life, I would actually do the research and find a classification of drug known as psychedelic which has a far safer physical profile. But alas, here is the music from that time period.

Stay tuned for more from BEHIND THE MUSIC!

Sort:  

Well done post thanks for sharing

@adamha1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45