Looking to hire a freelancer to make a few quick edits to a Ruby script

in #hiring4 years ago (edited)

I have a Ruby script that utilizes the SoundCloud API to automatically upload audio files to the platform and I need a few quick edits done to it.

  1. The script checks a specified folder for audio files to upload. I would like the location of this folder to be flexible and ideally passed as an argument when using a shell command to execute the script. We can discuss the feasibility of this within my setup however; there may be other options. For the time being, I think hardcoding an absolute folder location (D:\[Library]\[Audio]\[Works]\ on this computer) into the script will work fine.
  2. Before it uploads a file, it should check the SoundCloud profile for a track of the same name. If there isn't one, the file should always be uploaded.
  3. If one exists, it should then check the modified date of the file. If it was modified more recently than the last time the folder was checked (or if it's checking a new folder for the first time), the track should be deleted from the profile and then the file should be uploaded.

Aside from these changes, the existing functionality of the script should stay intact. Namely, it should

  • check if the account currently has enough space to upload the file. If not, delete as many of the oldest tracks as necessary to make space. Then upload the file. The track must be uploaded with the "downloadable" option enabled.

I would also stipulate that before the job would be considered complete, I would need to be sure the script was functioning properly in my setup. I intend to run it using nodeJS with the following function

let runExecutable = (location) => {
    //simple shell command to execute the file
    maxAPI.post("running " + location);
    shell.exec(`\"${location}\"`);
}

If this function cannot run a Ruby file the same way it runs an executable, I would need a suggestion on a modification to it that would allow it to. But I also need to be advised as to whether or not I have Ruby on Rails installed correctly on my computer (I believe I do, but I'm not the expert).

If you're interested, please get a hold of me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97