Making Vibekilla's "STAY WOKE" beat.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #hiphop6 years ago (edited)

Yo, I'm here to walk you through some of the process behind @vibekilla's "STAY WOKE"!
I've known @vibekilla for quite a while and I've been wanting to work with him for a majority of the time that I've known him. With that being said, I've shown him a lot of what I've worked on, and it never seemed to be something that he could see himself on. I love what "STAY WOKE" came out to be, and it's been a pleasure to work with both @vibekilla & @theaura-phzd....

When I opened up my DAW I was having a pretty good day so far and a majority of my music reflects how I feel that day.
I was presented with an empty screen but it quickly filled. I created a melody using "Sakura" Which looked a little something like this:Capture.PNG
(I don't remember what preset or anything as I lost the original midi for the melody, I had this melody sitting on my hard drive for a while) I threw some reverb on it and equalized it, then moved on.

With that in mind I instantly knew this was gonna be a trap beat.
I found some drums that I though sounded nice and beefy and created a four bar loop that looks like this:
STAYWOKE4BAR.PNG

I don't typically program my drums like this, I typically use a step sequencer .... But I thought I'd try something new. I really enjoy trying different techniques when producing/beat making.
I ended up using a completely different sounding hi-hat roll for texture, a kick that clips intentionally, a typical trap snare with plenty of reverb, and a 808 sub to fill up some of the low end.
I had the 808 follow the kick pattern and yet do it's own thing at the same time, I didn't want the 808 and the kick to follow each other, but I didn't want the 808 doing anything that would break the flow of the song.
The hi-hats hit every half a beat, while the hi-hat roles come in and out about four and a half beats to catch the ear.....

when it came to the hook, I wanted to keep it very simple, I just make the kicks drop out so it puts more focus on everything else:STAYWOKEHOOK.PNG

And that's where I started to strain my creativity on this beat, so I decided to wrap it up with a fade out: STAYWOKEEND.PNG

I went for more of a modern minimalist approach to the mixing, I didn't want anything to be overwhelming, or empty. I made just enough room for vocals:

Here's what the full project file looks like:STAYWOKEFULL.PNG

That's when I showed it to @vibekilla and he just fell in love with it, he heard it he audibly ooh'ed and said "This shit bangs! You need to send me this." And so I did.
From there it took about three or four days for @vibekila to fully write and record the song. And since I sent @vibekilla an unmastered version of the beat, I also exported the stems and sent those. He sent the stems along with his vocal tracks to the audio engineer for this track @theaura-phzd.

@vibekilla said "Honestly it took a while.
I went through a lot of concepts; my circle is fucked up and I don't really fuck with a lot of friends like I used to, mainly because they want to do their own thing.
I'm honored to be trending, and all I want to do is bring new artists to the table that could never be heard through the use of this platform."

Be sure to check out the full song on @vibekilla's profile!
and please join us for our steemit journey to turn this into a platform for artists of all kinds on Discord

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vibrancy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

AYYYYYYYYY one love dude for real, it was dope working with you.

It was really cool working with you too, I hope we can work together more in the future.

Nice work, love the lead instrument a lot.

Be sure to check out @vibekilla's post too if you haven't already! https://steemit.com/hiphop/@vibekilla/stay-woke-original-rap-song

I played the intro for 4 different people and every one of them guessed a different type of music than rap. I love the beat as much as the lyric's. You guys did a great job putting it together.

Haha, thanks man! It means a lot to me. What did they guess?

AYE! This was clean as usual.
When i get better expect some art for you guys work.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck

Yeah, sure. Go ahead and post my stuff, guys. It'd be an honor! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70929.60
ETH 3846.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51